All the possibilities of a new year.

Yes, I’m still alive. I know you were wondering since I haven’t posted in almost two days. To be honest, I haven’t done much of anything in two days. I didn’t leave the house. Posted once early on Tuesday. Didn’t clean the house or put away the holiday decorations. Mostly, I sat in my computer chair and organized genealogy information that isn’t even mine (shut up, it’s therapeutic) or lied on the couch and watched my newly-arrived Grey’s Anatomy Season 5. In other words: I’ve been sloth-like.

Yes, sloth-like. Physically, I’ve barely moved a muscle other than to blow my nose or make some more tea. Mentally…well, that’s a different ballgame altogether. My mind was either drooling as I stared into the depths of the television screen, wondering how in the world I could be so tired and not be sleepy. Or spinning feverishly trying to think of a worthy resolution for the coming year.

Aha! There’s my point! Resolutions. And new years. My resolution last year was phenomenal (largely due to the fact that it was a smashing success; bet I’d think differently had I failed). However could I top it this year? I liked my sister’s idea that I compile a list of must-see movies and try to conquer it. I even tossed the idea around in my mind as to how I could deploy it. 25 movies sounded like a good number. Should I just try to watch 25 new movies or should I compile a list of 25 movies I haven’t seen but should have seen and try to conquer it that way? It sounded great. There was only problem. I had another idea that wouldn’t go away.

It was a silly little idea. A really laughable one, actually. I think I want to participate in a 365 project. The kind where you take one picture every day for a whole year. Crazy, huh? But a bunch of bloggy friends have 365 side-projects going on and I’ve admired their focus and some of the seemingly random but so, so beautiful pictures they showcase. And then this past month it seems like everyone has been talking about their project. I saw this post by Margie over at soeurs du jour, the site she runs with her sister Kath. And I read the articles that Margie and Kath linked to: one that looked back on a nearly-finished 365 over Shutter Sisters and one by Gabrielle Kai Photography on fifteen nifty tips to consider for such an endeavor. I could have sworn that the lovely Karen over at Chookooloonks also had one up, but of course I can’t find it now. They were all signs leading me down a mystical alley, bright with all sorts of hope and pixie dust. (Seriously! No, it’s not the cold meds.)

Crazy, huh? But think of how great it would be to reach the end of a year and be able to look back at a piece of each day that had gone. How often do I get look back at my pictures and wonder how I could have taken so few when I know the girls and I did fun! and exciting! things. How often do all of us try to look back and wonder all our time went? I might only have a picture of a book on my nightstand with the bookmark falling just so, or the girls running out to the swingset or my mug of coffee to remind me of what I was doing that day, but it’s all a little piece of the craziness, right? I might just have a point-and-click, and I might not be some hotshot photographer, but in the end it will all mean something to me. I might miss a day. I might even miss as many as two days. And I’ll admit – it’s a pretty big goal. But how else can I prove I am so kickass if I don’t shoot for some pretty big dreams?

I love tripping over all the possibilities of a brand new year.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “All the possibilities of a new year.”

  1. agent torklepants Says:

    theres nothing wrong with 2 resolutions either…
    i like the movie one. i might do it myself. ive always wanted to watch all the movies on the afi list or something…but just skip over the ones that seem waaay too stupid to pay 5 bucks to rent. itd also be nice if i watched alll of the movies i got for xmas BEFORE next xmas, including the ones i got last year :0/ lol.

    the 365 one sounds cool, as long as you dont do the saaaame pose everyday and come up with neat little captions that explain them. which im sure youll have no probs with. in fact i could help you with the poses…shall make a list of props needed!!

  2. Kim Says:

    @Agent T. – YES! *you* should do the movie resolution because, well, then you can tell *me* which ones are worth it. And we all know I’m much more likely to enjoy your suggestions than what the Big Sis thinks I should like 😉

  3. mrs. e Says:

    I love looking at the 365 photos too. I’ve toyed with the idea. I’m just not sure how many pictures of my toes they would want to see. (I just know I’d wait until bedtime and then realize I needed a shot yet!)

    Yes, the movie one I could definitely get into!! : )

  4. julie Says:

    Ooh, I vote for trying them both. I may even try the 365 one. 🙂

  5. sunnymama Says:

    Just calling by to wish you a Happy New Year. I’ve been thinking today about a photo a day project for 2010 also. Really enjoyed reading your thoughts about the possibilities. 🙂

Leave a comment