A good, good dog.

I don’t know how to write about it. Probably because I’m stewing in so much guilt still.

Someone – I think the neighbor kids, while retrieving their dog, but I can’t be sure – left the gate open. When I let Fenway out, not knowing, my sweet, mischievous pup-pup found the open gate, and then escaped. Fenway loves a good adventure.

I tried finding Fenway, driving along the streets, hoping I could tempt her into the car because my goofy dog thinks every car goes to the vet. But I didn’t find her until it was too late. She was hit by a car.

And telling the girls… well…let’s just say we’re never getting a dog again so I never have to go through the particular heartache with them. So many tears! It broke my heart. I can’t even handle my babies with that much grief.

She was a good dog. Yes, you were, Fenway! Who’s a good dog?! She loved hearing that; I can guarantee you her tail is wagging, wherever she is. (And probably there’s a little pee on the carpet.)

Superbowl4

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A good, good dog.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    This still breaks by heart. I can’t even imagine. Just know we are thinking of you. And, I maybe used this as a reminder to my teens that they and their friends must be certain the fence gates are closed when they are running in and out of the yard.

  2. Care Says:

    I’m so so sorry. Lots of {{hugs}}

Leave a Reply

