Five for Friday.

Ohhhh, it’s been a week. I am ready for my weekend to hurry up and get here!

1. The girls came back from the funeral last night, and it was good to get a few hours worth of cuddles and alllll the stories! Now they’re back to their dad’s house for the weekend, and I have two days filled with nothing but an empty schedule. Mwa ha ha! I have so many errands and projects lined up, I’m going to blink and it’ll be Sunday night, just you wait. Although, the weatherman says it’s supposed to monsoon all weekend, so maybe we should place a bet on whether I shirk all the errands and stay cuddled up with a book or my writing all weekend.

2. I’ve started running again. One of my new friends at ThePlaceThatShallNotBeDiscussed has never run before, and so I’m starting way back with the very beginning of Couch-2-5k with her. It’ll be a good way for me to actually get off my duff and get back into things. My body needs a wake-up call. Wait, or maybe it’s giving me one? All I know is I need to get moving again. The weight isn’t just going to fall off and tone itself. And I want to look as sexy on the outside again and I feel on the inside.

3. The tune-up is required, I mention, because my poor tummy has been all ulcer-y this week. It was so bad one night that I almost ended up at the hospital. Thankfully, switching to a peanut-butter sandwich and milk diet has helped a lot. You know what else has helped? A magic oil that one of my nurse friends gave me. I’m not into alternative medicine and the oils thing just isn’t for me (most of the smells kick off my asthma, so that’s a non-starter right there). But five drops of this oil in a small glass of water, and instant relief from my ulcer! After three days of taking the oil regularly (and eating a smarter ulcer-friendly diet), and I’m feeling so much better. I’m still not a believer, but I’m very thankful I was able to feel better and avoid a hospital bill.

4. It’s a big playoff weekend for football! And it’s the first time in a long time that the football team here – the Cowboys – is in the playoffs, along with our home team, the Patriots. Gracie’s junior high, one of only a few schools in her district to have a dress code, texted everyone yesterday to announce that students were allowed to wear a sports jersey today. “Cowboys gear is encouraged, but all sports jerseys are allowed.” I’m not even kidding! Because I am an awesome mom, I texted Gracie to make sure she saw the text. The junior high is pretty adamant about students signing up for alerts and such, to start teaching them how to take care of and look after themselves. (Which I love!) And Gracie has always been good about that. But since she’s been away all week and our routine has been off, I wanted to be sure she saw. I even told her that if she had Cowboys gear at her dad’s house and she wanted to wear it, to remember to bring it home for the morning. Yes, I hate that she has a small allegiance to some Texas sports teams, but I also recognize that junior high is a terrible time to feel like the odd-man-out. Gracie’s response? Uh, she wasn’t wearing no stinkin’ Cowboys gear! She was wearing her Brady jersey! I cannot tell you how my heart soared! She wasn’t afraid of being different; being true to her team was important to her. Sometimes I think I am doing okay with this parenting thing.

5. There is definitely a longer post about the Tournament of Books finalists that I want to write, but I have to spill some of it now after all the excitement yesterday. I was feeling pretty good about having read 31 of the 100+ books on the longlist. Yeah, it’s only a third of them, but it’s many more than a lot of people have read. I was proud! And then the list of finalists was published and not only are several of my favorites missing, but I’d only read 8 of the 18 finalists. Yes, I have 6 weeks to read the other 10 books (the ones I’m reading, anyway – I have already firmly decided to skip a few because NOPE, negative interest). I just wish… I don’t know. I think the group is a little flat this year. Anti-climatic, or something. Good thing I have an awesome TOB reading group who will can make anything a riot and a half!

Okay, that’s it for this senorita. Let’s get Friday going so we can get to the weekend!

2 Responses to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Have I ever told you how much I LOVE your Friday lists? I love them! They make me smile. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. Care Says:

    I finished Sweet Lamb of Heaven today. Not bad, very odd, should have been more to my liking and I can’t figure out why I didn’t love it more… Starting We Love You Charlie Freeman now

Leave a Reply

