Five for Friday.

This week flew by. I guess that’s what happens when you spend half your day in the loo, hoping to pass your kidney stone.

1  I don’t think my kidney stone is going anywhere. In fact, I’m about to open the floor and ask for submissions to name it as my pet. Last night I did jumping jacks, ran laps, did crunches, and generally tortured myself, hoping to unstuck the barb or whatever else is holding that sucker in. It didn’t help.

2  The mystery with the prank calls – or whatever they were – continue. Gracie got a No Caller ID call last night at 9:30 p.m., just as the girls were shutting off their lights. She didn’t answer it, so we’re not sure if hers would have been a telemarketer or a sex scammer. Reeee-diculous.

3  To keep my mind off things, a bunch of bookish friends and I are doing a readalong of Ann Patchett’s State of Wonder. It’s one of my favorite books, so I’m re-reading. I’m dreadfully behind, but hopefully I can do a fair bit of catching up this weekend! I’m still way at the beginning where Marina and her boss/secret boyfriend have told a co-worker’s wife that said co-worker is dead, and now Marina is going to the remote Amazon to find out what happened. You guys should come join Care, Debbie, Stacey, and I dish about the book and shout out favorite lines over on Twitter.

4 Have I mentioned that we have baby bluebirds hanging out by the front door? Jeff thinks I’m nuts…well, nuttier than usual…because I keep opening the door to make cheep-cheep-cheep noises at the little darlings. They’re just too cute! The mama, though, I am thinking about calling CPS on her ass. That bird is hardly ever there! The baby birds are getting pretty big though, and soon they’ll be pushed out of the nest. I’ve joked to the girls that they might want to upsize the furniture in the fairy gardens if they expect to keep our new pets.

5  My kids think it’s hilarious to pull the ol’ switcheroo on me from time to time and now it’s happened with reading. Gracie-girl has decided nope, she is not reading. No way. And Bee keeps begging for more and more time. She’s halfway through a 400 page book in two days (El Deafo) that she “tricked” me into making a bet over. She said she could finish it before the end of the month. I pretended there was no way she could do it. We bet $5. If that gets her excited about reading, I’m all for it! Now the trick to get Gracie to read… But printing out their summer reading lists is today’s reward so reading (and book report writing) is on the slate of Things To Do no matter what they want.

Send me well wishes this weekend as I tackle a dirty house, grocery shopping that didn’t get done last weekend (oh, back when we thought this stone was temporary), and a house fulla kids. Part of me is still thinking that if I can get through this weekend, I can get through anything.

Except maybe kidney stones.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I love #4!!! And here’s to passing that kidney stone. Plus, if you make it through this weekend you can survive anything.

Leave a Reply

