Five for Friday.

Morning everyone! I’m a little high strung this morning. Just a leeetle, because…

1. This storm. YOU GUYS. This storm! I keep reminding myself what to grab if the lights go out. It storms off and on all night. Not the tornadic supercells they warned us might happen, but bad enough to wake me up with thunder and NOAA alerts.

2. Guess how much prep work I’ve done for Bee’s party tomorrow? HA HA HA HA HA! I did make a list of things I have to buy at the groceria later. You know – like cake mixes. And I did dig out the girls’ new bathing suits. (Gracie’s has been missing for many moons, even since before her birthday.) Other than that? Oh I only have to shop for supplies, get some snacks, bake some cakes, frosten the cakes, and decorate the cakes. Oh and maybe wrap a gift or two. And find the contract to sign.

3. Instead I’ve been collapsing on the couch after work not thinking about things I should be stressing over and instead focusing on this:

Blanket

It’s for a friend’s grandbaby. Don’t you love the colors? I just have the meadow and the straight-stitching left.

4. And then this awesome thing happened yesterday:

AnnBrannon

Bee won the most prestigious award given to a fourth-grader! I have much more to say on the subject, so we’ll revisit this next week. Suffice it to say that I had to remind my sweet daughter that she had to take off her medal before she went to school today. I think she’s rather proud of herself – almost as much as I am!

5. My word of the day calendar makes up words. I’m not even kidding. I am pretty well-read; I know a lot of words. My vocabulary is better than decent, I’d say. And even I don’t know half the words that calendar is trying to pawn off on us! Today’s word? Gymkhana. Tell me that isn’t made up.

Okay, folks. I’m off to go practice my dead man’s float in all this rain. Just so long as it stops storming for tomorrow pool party, I’m okay with it, though! This is me, not complaining about today’s weather!

Tags:

3 Responses to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Kim Says:

    Oooh, I can’t wait to hear more about Bee’s award! Even with the face blocker on the pic, you can tell she’s just beaming!!

    You should have a special treat showing up at work today. So make sure you get your mail!

  2. Kathy Says:

    Bee – WOW!! What a week for her. I am not sure I care what the award is for – I love the smile.

    Have a great time tomorrow at the pool party. It will all work out fine.

    Love the blanket.

  3. Trish Says:

    Congrats to Bee!! And that blanket–you do such gorgeous work.

    Did you see the spelling bee winning words from yesterday? I can’t even…

    And dear friend, you just need to turn off those NOAA notifications. You’ll be OK. You’ll hear the sirens if they’re going off and you need to take cover. Get some sleep! Though I think the weather this weekend should be a nice reprieve. Hey–at least it’s not 100 outside!! That’s something, right?

Leave a Reply

