Bout of Books: Day 2 recap.

BoutOfBooks

Yesterday’s reading wasn’t all I had hoped, you guys. Because, well, see there was this rotating wall cloud over my house last night, and then when THAT drama was just about over, the electricity went out. And stayed out until 1:15 a.m. I can only do so much reading my flashlight until I give up and go to sleep. So!

Books read yesterday:

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, by Ann Brashares. I read a few chapters to the girls last night by flashlight light. Reading when the lights go out is the best! We got maybe 50 pages done, which is awesome! We’re still at the beginning-ish, but the girls are getting sucked into the story. I love when you can see them tip over from doubting whether the story is worth their time into the place where the story owns them and they have to know what happens.

Project X, by Jim Shepard. I only read a few pages (also by flashlight) before sleep grabbed me. I haven’t gotten sucked in yet, mostly because I don’t care that the boys are being bullied [I am a horrible person, I know], but I’m still very optimistic that I’m going to enjoy the book. [Is enjoy the right word, when what we’re talking about is tragic? Eh…]

You, by Caroline Kepnes. As I said yesterday (I think?), I grabbed this because my readerly friends from back home all highly recommended it to me. It’s twisted, but catchy, they said. Hoo boy, are they right! Our protagonist is stalking this flaky chick who bought something in his bookstore, and is convinced she’s in love with him. I’ve learned enough about Crazy Stalker that I am basically never making eye contact with anyone ever again, but I can’t say I like Flaky Chick enough to care what befalls her or the demented douche of a guy she’s hopelessly chasing. The action has picked up and I’m sort of annoyed that I only got to read 50-60 pages while waiting at my daughter’s orthodontia appointment.

A Fierce and Subtle Poison, by Samantha Mabry. I got through a goodish chunk yesterday and I’m irrevocably addicted! It was on my TBR to begin with, but it moved way up when I saw it would satisfy my “Read a Horror Book” requirement for the Read Harder challenge. [All of my authors for the challenge must be people of color.] A high school boy summers in San Juan with his hotel tycoon father, and has become obsessed with the cursed house at the end of his street – and especially with the cursed girl whom the locals whisper about, the girl with green skin and grass for hair. The girl who is now sending Lucas mysterious notes. Oh! Also! Missing girls keep popping up dead and the local detective isn’t so keen on Lucas. So there’s that going on.

Okay, so it might not have felt like I got a lot of reading done this week, but turns out I did better than I thought!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

