April #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks Check-In

Morning, all! It’s time to check in with one of my challenges: Andi’s Read My Own Damn Books challenge! If you remember, originally I wasn’t planning on joining. I don’t have gobs and gobs and gobs of books standing by, and so I thought it was a needless challenge for me. Why join, only to say “I did it!” ten books later. That’s not nice. But then I thought to myself, Self, you have about 20 books sitting on that shelf, half of which you’ve owned for more than one Christmas. It’s time. It’s half past time. So I joined Andi’s challenge to help nudge myself to read those books that had, for one reason or another, stopped seeming readable.

My goal: To read all of the books on my To Read Shelf, especially the ones I’d owned for more than a year.

My promise: To not buy any new books until I’ve reached my goal. (Jeepers, Katie!)

Here’s how I did in April (reviews are posted weekly on the blog, usually on Thursdays):

The Bollywood Bride, by Sonali Dev – Bought, but only because it was $1.99 for my ereader!
Crazy, by Benjamin Lebert – Borrowed from Kim
When I Was a Child, I Read Books, by Marilynne Robinson – Borrowed from the libraryLessons in French, by Hilary Reyl – Borrowed from the library
After Birth, by Elisa Albert – Borrowed from the library
The Listener, by Rachel Basch – Borrowed from the library
Shatter Me, by Tahereh Mafi Borrowed from the library
Challenger Deep, by Neal Shusterman – Borrowed from the library
Re Jane, by Patricia Park – Borrowed from the library
The Thing About Jellyfish, by Ali Benjamin – Borrowed from the library
The Coffins of Little Hope, by Timothy Schaffert – Owned; It’s one of My Own Damn Books!
Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline – Owned; A Re-read, out loud to the girls
The Night We Said Yes, by Lauren Gibaldi – Borrowed from the library
The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah – Borrowed from the library
The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards, by Kristopher Jansma – Borrowed from the library
When Breath Becomes Air, by Paul Kalanithi – Borrowed from the library
Happy Are the Happy, by Yasmina Reza – Borrowed from the library
When Reason Breaks, by Cindy Rodriguez – Borrowed from the library
Summer and Bird, by Katherine Catmull – Owned! One of My Own Damn Books!
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, by Teresa Toten – Borrowed from the library
All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders – Borrowed from the library
Snowblind, by Christopher Golden – Owned! One of my Own Damn Books
The Real Doctor Will See You Shortly, by Matt McCarthy – Bought, for the readathon. Whoops.
Twisty Little Passages, by Nick Montfort – Owned! One of my Own Damn Books
Prepper’s Complete Guide to Disaster Preparedness, by Scott Hunt – Owned!
The Beach, by Alex Garland – Owned! One of my Own Damn Books!
The Blackhouse, by Peter May – Owned! One of my Own Damn Books!
Alibis, by Andre Aciman – Owned! From my last Quarterly Box
Hearts in Atlantis, by Stephen King – Owned! A re-read from long ago
Burn, Baby, Burn, by Meg Medina – Owned! From my last YA Quarterly Box
This Is All I Have to Say, by Swapna Seth – Borrowed from the library

Foof. That’s a lot of typing. I read 32 books in April. Thirty-two books. I did buy two of them. Shame! Oh the shaaaaaaame! But 7 books were from my To Read shelf. That means I only have 11 more. The Readathon helped a lot – I read a good chunk of those 7 books in that one day. It kills me because I know theoretically, I could knock them all out in one month, easily, if I wanted to. I just don’t. And can’t seem to make myself. So onward we plod.

Good thing the challenge is about books and I don’t mind so much the plodding. Heh.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “April #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks Check-In”

  1. Janani Says:

    AMAZING! You’re a rockstar!

Leave a Reply

