#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks: February Challenge Update

ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton

What what? Another month finished? The hell you say. I swear time is passing so quickly because my head is constantly buried in a book and I keep forgetting to look up. But since February is gone (well, in a few hours, thanks to today’s bonus day), it’s time to check in with my part in Andi’s #ReadMyOnwDamnBooks challenge and see how well I resisted the temptation to buy any new books.

(If you want to read reviews of what I read, you can find my thoughts here and here and here.)

22. The New World, by Chris Adrian – A library ebook
23. Bats of the Republic, by Zachary Thomas Dodson – Library ebook
24. The Invaders, by Karolina Waclawiak – Library ebook
25. Smaller and Smaller Circles – Library ebook
26. Rock Paper Scissors, by Naja Marie Aidt – Library ebook
27. Cherry Money Baby, by John Cusick – Previously owned (one of the five left over from two Christmases ago)
28. The Royal We, by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan – Library hardcover
29. No More Heroes, by Stephen Thompson – Christmas gift
30. I Am Princess X, by Cherie Priest – Library book
31. The End of Alice, by A.M. Homes – Previously owned
32. The Turner House, by Angela Flournoy – Library ebook
33. Nimona – My daughter’s Christmas gift
34. The Memory of Light, by Francisco Stork – Pre-ordered before the book ban!
35. Stay Up with Me, by Tom Barbush – Library ebook
36. A Man Called Ove, by Fredrik Backman – I bought it. I did! I broke all the rules.
37. The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck, by Sarah Knight – Bought
38. Mortality, by Christopher Hitchens – Christmas gift
39. Columbine, by Dave Cullen – Previously owned; re-read
40. A Mother’s Reckoning, by Sue Klebold – Bought
41. Wizard and Glass, by Stephen King – Previously owned; re-read
42. Bag of Bones, by Stephen King – Previously owned; re-read
43. The Loudness, by Nick Courage – Library ebook
44. Inside the O’Briens, by Lisa Genova – Library ebook
45. The Truth Commission, by Susan Juby – Library ebook
46. Girl in the Dark, by Anna Lyndsey – Library ebook

So there you go. 24 books read. I broke down and bought three of them! For shame, Katie! I did well not buying more of them, but only 5 books of 24 came from my pool of books I have piled up in the queue. I know I borrow a lot of ebooks for reading on my phone while I’m waiting in line, at red lights, etc., but I need to be better about reading at night before bed and at lunch from the stack of books at home that isn’t getting much smaller.

Still. Even with all the rules and, you know, the giant point of the challenge, I don’t feel too bad. I read a lot of books this month. And that alone is enough to make me happy!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks: February Challenge Update”

  1. Michelle Says:

    24 books in one month?!? Dang!! Even in the year I read 200 books, I never finished that many in one month. Quite impressive.

  2. Sally Allen (@BookishinCT) Says:

    Whoa, that’s a lot of books for the shortest month of the year (or the longest)!

Leave a Reply

