Twice-stolen Peruvian Roast Chicken.

PeruvianRoastChicken

Those of you who know me know what a thing I have for garlic. I mean, the garlickier, the tastier! So when my friend Jenna posted a recipe for Peruvian Roast Chicken and Garlic Butter Rice (that she, in turn, borrowed from Nagi), I knew I needed to make it immediately. All that garlic!

You guys. You guys! It might be the best meal I’ve made all year. The chicken was delicious and flavorful and toasted to the perfect degree of crispiness. The rice was buttery and garlicky and melted in my mouth. The green beans were buttery and snappy. And the crescent rolls…

WHAT YOU’LL NEED

Chicken
4 skin-on chicken breasts or 2 lbs. of other skin-on chicken pieces
1 tbsp freshly minced garlic or 3-6 garlic cloves, crushed (to taste)
2 tsp cumin powder1 tbsp paprika (Nagi recommends smoked; I used plain and it was fine)
4 tbsp soy sauce (Yes, even if you don’t like soy)
2 tbsp lime juice, fresh (1 lime)(Though I used lime juice from a bottle)
1 tbsp “good” olive oil

Garlic Butter Rice
4 garlic cloves or 2 tbsp minced garlic
1 tbsp “good” olive oil
2 cups white rice
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
4 tbsp butter

HOW TO DO IT

1. Whisk the marinade ingredients in a bowl.
2. Place the chicken pieces in a freezer-grade ziploc bag, then pour the marinade ingredients over them. Seal the bag and shake to coat.
3. Ideally, let the marinade work for a couple hours. Your chicken will still be tasty if you don’t have enough time to let it sit.
4. Bake the chicken as you would usually. I did my bone-in breasts at 375° for 1:20.

1. Heat oil and garlic in a saucepan big enough to hold two cups of cooked rice (medium to large).
2. Add rice and stir until the rice gets coated and starts to look translucent. Then add water and broth, cover, and reduce heat to medium low.3. Cook for about 15 minutes. If your stove sucks like mine, panic when the water isn’t even reduced after 15 minutes, turn it up a bit, and check every five minutes until done.
4. When the water/broth is nearly all gone, remove from heat and let stand 5-10 minutes. Add the butter and mix, letting it melt. Don’t taste test, or you will go face down so you can make out with it a little.

I made cheesy biscuits instead of garlic butter to give our mouths a place to rest after all! that! garlic! in the rest of our food, and resisted (barely) adding any to the green beans, too. But experiment away! It’s one of those recipes you could tweak a dozen different ways. And I probably will because zomg so good I already want to make it again!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Twice-stolen Peruvian Roast Chicken.”

  1. Kim Says:

    Oh my. I’m considering buying skin-on chicken for the first time in YEARS just so I can start this with the base recipe (before tweaking). Nomnomnom

  2. This is getting to be a Sunday night ritual. | Can't Get There From Here Says:

    […] night was a good, good night. I made my Twice-Stolen Peruvian Roast Chicken for dinner, and the girls didn’t even complain. I warned them we’d be having more […]

Leave a Reply

