Five for Friday.

Good lord – is it Friday already? Or do I want to kiss Friday on the mouth and ask where the heck it’s been? One of the two for sure. Either way, I am really, really glad to at least be in comfy clothes today. Even if it’s as insane day, at least I will be comfortable! (Let’s see how long that mantra lasts…) Okay, here we go:

1. Gracie did, indeed, love her OwlCrate. Pictures were snapped, squeals echoed, and items littered first the table and then her room. A full rundown is coming.

2. The Tournament of Book shortlist is here! I’ve only read three of the 18 – Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, Anthony Marra’s The Tsar of Love and Techno, and Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life. I’m pretty hesitant to read most of the others – I hadn’t even heard of most of them – but I hadn’t heard of Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach trilogy last year either, and I loved the stuffing out of that. So I’m just gonna pinch my nose, pick a book, and jump in.

3. I had a really good run of music on the drive in this morning, and that makes so much difference setting the mood of the day. I listed to a bit of my Boston mix, and then put on a mix Rhi had made me before one of the Pats’ big showdowns. The Jets game maybe? Or the first Denver game? Either way, it was an epic singalong – the kind people stare at while sitting next to you at a stoplight. Heh.

4. There is a red dress run in New Orleans in August and Corrie asked me if I wanted to sign up. That would be epic!! I’m thinking of doing it. Like, for real. I could totally train in 7 months!

5. So. This game. This game is going to cause a breakup, I just know it. Either Jeff or I are going to have our hearts ripped out, broken, and smashed on the floor. And I know myself – I am not the bigger person. I will sob actual tears. I cannot lose. I cannot face everyone having lost. So I really, really, really hope that my team wins. Though I am not confident.

There you have it folks. That’s what rattling around my brain this week. Hopefully I will be here on Monday to feed you some more. Go Pats!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I love your lists. Good music is the BEST – Blues Brothers soundtrack on my way in this morning. Set my mood for sure.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    It was for the Colts game. Our last stop on the vengeance tour! Were you listening to “Let’s GO” or GOAT because one is for pregame and one is for celebrating…

Leave a Reply

