Remember that time I swore I’d never StitchFix?

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it yet, but I pinched my nose, closed my eyes, and jumped headlong into the StitchFix craze. I had so much fun answering the initial fashion and taste questionnaire. Of course. Me being me, and all. I explained that I dress mostly in neutrals (and reds), that I want to have more patterns to mix up my wardrobe but can’t seem to find any I like, and that I want to branch out and be more adventurous…I just don’t seem to know how.

So that was the start of it all. I’ve had three boxes. The first was a bunch of misses, with the exception of some skinny jean jeggings that I never in a million years would have even tried on. They would look horrible on my massive thighs. Except I looked FRICKIN FABULOUS in them! They were a keeper. And there was a chunky grey sweater that was a bit oversized, but soooo comfortable. The second box was again a bunch of misses. The only thing I kept was a multi-colored sweater that I have worn approximately 29345830948 times in the past month. There were also a pair of jeans that were a bit tight in the thighs, which I was sad about my booty would bring all the things to the yard. (Which is a different problem all together.)

Then there was the third box that I got on Saturday. You guys: I’m broke; everything was amazing!

Here’s what I got:

A dress I wanted to make out with as soon as I pulled it out of the box. Wrap dresses are super-flattering on me and I love those kelly green and dark blue colors together! Also: blue dresses are kind of my thing. I wear them all summer.

StitchFix3c

A cardigan for the cardigan queen! I don’t have any in teal and I have a hundred shirts I could wear with it.

StitchFix3b

This polka dot blouse made my heart fall a little. I did ask for one piece out of my comfort zone and my stylist checked that box with this piece. I can see how it would be a good piece to own and would go with a lot of things, but… eh.

StitchFix3

A pair of jeans. Which, okay – having a go-to pair of grown-up jeans is good. I need to stop buying mom-jeans. But jeans are boring, you guys.

And a pair of earrings. I’m scared of the price, but this earrings are AMAZING! I would buy them if I saw them while I was out shopping. I love chevrons!

StitchFix3d

Then I had to try on everything. Keep in mind I unboxed my Fix while Jeff was at the doctor because he threw out his lower back, or pulled a muscle or whatever. So I had to be my own photographer.

The wrap dress? Loved me. It felt like it was tailor-made for me. Definitely a keeper.

StitchFix3i

The cardigan? Dang it felt good! It was drapey enough that it didn’t just hang straight down from my boobs and make me look like Madam Cluck from Robin Hood. And the pointy hem in the front helped give me more of a waist and maybe made me look an entire inch taller. Ahem. Maybe a keeper – I do have a lot of cardigans, but Corrie borrows them. So. Twice as useful.

The jeans. Look how good they fit!

StitchFix3f

And the blouse. It actually looked really cute on. I probably wouldn’t keep it, but it did look nice. And I didn’t hate it. I am trying to wear different patterns than I would normally wear and I could stand this one. So…maybe? It looks even better with a scarf or a cinched belt, but I didn’t take those pics.

StitchFix3e
Then I looked at prices and did the math. If I kept the dress, earrings (which make the dress pop even more), and either the jeans or the cardigan, then the other two items were free, either way, because of the discount you get if you buy the entire box. It’s silly to turn down free items! And even if I kept just the dress and earrings, for $60, I could have jeans, a cardigan, and a blouse! For once, math was my friend!!

So I kept the entire Fix. I couldn’t help it. I am the best dressed mamacita on the planet this week. And I am wearing them. I wore the polka-dot blouse yesterday with a wide red belt cinched high, black pants, and a mushroom-colored sweater until the office warmed up. Oh and tall black boots. I was a rock star! Today I have on the cardigan with a white sweater (with metal chains across the looooooow cut in front (and a black tank top to make the sweater decent), tan khakis, black boots, and a black scarf. Tomorrow I’ll wear the earrings. Thursday is supposed to be in the 70s, so I’ll try to wear my dress. And Friday, the jeans.

And now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go work on my side-job so I can afford my next Fix.
Tags:

3 Responses to “Remember that time I swore I’d never StitchFix?”

  1. Kim Says:

    Heh. There is now a photo of your booty out on the interwebs.

    But also: Bravo for being adventurous! Even if there was a cardigan holding your hand the entire time…

  2. Kathy Says:

    I was thinking the same thing Kim – about the “booty shot”.

    Everything looks great! Stepping out of your comfort zone is SO. HARD. Good thing there was a cardigan.

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Just so you know your butt is now your contact photo in my phone 🙂

Leave a Reply

