The Great Book Haul of 2015.

Last night, I turned to Jeff, batted my eyes, and asked him oh-so-sweetly if he would pretty please run out to the mailbox and grab the book that had arrived. He looked at me like I was nuts. Which, yes. And also maybe because it was raining, and he was already in his pajamas pants. And he was going to have to grab the giant umbrella that actually covers all of a grown-up (that I had already grabbed – I’m so nice) and put on shoes. The fact that I just got eleventy hundred books for Christmas and yet somehow had yet another book in the mailbox might have had something to do with it. But it was raining! And I didn’t want the book to get wet!

It’s true. I ordered a few books right after Christmas. But I had a gift card and there were a few books that I really wanted that didn’t make it under the tree. So I fixed it.

And now I need to fix something else.

I did get an awful lot of books. Let’s look at what those where, and then we’ll look at this “fixing” thing I keep talking about.

What books did I find under the tree? Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon; The Best American Travel Writing, edited by Jamaica Kincaid; Bodies That Matter, by Judith Butler; Fobbit, by David Abrams; The Beach, by Alex Garland; Liar, Temptress, Solider, Spy, by Karen Abbott; The Pear That Broke Its Shell, by Nadia Hashimi; The Complete Cast of Characters in LiteratureTwisty Little Passages: An Approach to Interactive Fiction, by Nick Montfort; Winter Journal, by Paul Auster; Summer and Bird, by Katherine Catmull; Under the Dome Part II, by Stephen King; Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews; No More Heroes, by Stephen Thompson; Crazy, by Benjamin Lebert; Lexicon, by Max Barry; This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage, by Ann Patchett; Blockade Billy, by Stephen King; Tortoises and Turtles, by Liz Palika; Humans of New York: Stories, by Brandon Stanton; and Fifty States: Every Question Answered.

And then I bought Find Me, by Laura Van Den Berg; Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy; Girl at War, by Sara Novic; Storyteller: The Life of Roald Dahl, by Donald Sturrock; Mortality, by Christopher Hitchens; I Am Princess X, by Cherie Priest; This Is Where It Ends, by Marieke Nijkamp; and The Last Policeman, by Ben Winters. Because I have a problem.

Should I still feel the need to claim more, Kim got a pretty decent haul, too. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, by Stieg Larsson; Duma Key, by Stephen King; The Sellout, by Paul Beatty; Handling the Undead, by John Sjvide; The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven, by Sherman Alexie; Driving with Dead People, by Monica Holloway; Bosnia: A Short History, by Noel Malcolm; Trigger Warning, by Neil Gaiman; A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain, by Adrianne Harun; City on Fire, by Garth Risk Hallberg; Skippy Dies, by Paul Murray; Call Me Zelda, by Erika Robuck; Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald; Innumeracy, by John Allen Paulos; Those That Wake, by Jesse Karp; A Severed Wasp, by Madeleine L’Engle; Cold Plague, by Daniel Kalla; The Seeing Stone, by Kevin Crossley Holland; The Arm of the Starfish, by Madeleine L’Engle; The Gone-Away World, by Nick Harkaway; The Pesthouse, by Jim Crace; Humans of New York: Stories; How to Survive Anything; Hunting and Gathering; Espionage: Spies, Codes, Ciphers & Secret Weapons; Covert Ops: Secrets of the Most Powerful Agencies in the World; Prepare for Disaster; and Best Infographics of 2015.

Which is awesome, right? All of these books? Well wait just a second. I had (most of) all of these books…and then went and used a gift card to get more. A gift card I could have used to fulfill my Read Harder challenge as the year went on. Or on (gasp!) something other than books! Heresy, I know!

So here’s where a bit of “fixing” comes in. Andi over at Estella’s Revenge is hosting a challenge – and you guys know how much I love a reading challenge! It’s the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge, helping everyone get through the piles and shelves and bookcases stuffed full of books and caches and caches of ebooks. “Come and join me!” she implored. “It’ll be fun!” she insisted. And I wanted to and it would be…except when she was asking, I thought it was a bit unwarranted. I only had three or four of my own books on the shelf that I hadn’t read. I’m a buy-as-I-go – or, more likely, borrow-as-I-go – kind of girl. I could join the challenge for half a minute, but then I’d be out.

And then Christmas.

Which is how I came to join the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge of 2016. I pledge (don’t do it!) to not buy another book (pre-orders aside) until I finish all of the books (oh god) I got for Christmas. So help me book gods.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Great Book Haul of 2015.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I love this. Not because I have been doing much ready lately (there are 4 books next to my bed that get dusted regularly) but because I had to vow to NOT buy more yarn until I knit with all the yarn I already have. Or until March – whichever comes first.

Leave a Reply

