Hello, 2016.

Good morning, Real World. Well – Real World-ish. Ish. We’re not completely back on schedule here at Casa de Katie. My sister did go home yesterday (sniffle), and we did take down the Christmas decorations, and everyone is back at work…but there are kiddos who are still not quite in school yet. So there’s a little hiccup in our Real World-ish-ness.

Still, for the most part, it’s back to normal routines and usual practices, only with all the shiny new year optimism.

I can’t say I’m not glad.

I like this time of year, the short little while when you don’t feel defeated or discouraged or anything less than glitterific and full of promise. I think it’s going to be a pretty good year.

Gracie-girl will finish pseudo-middle school and start real middle school. I’m not sure I’m ready for 7th grade…but then again, I am itching for Gracie to get her license so we have another Bringer of People to Things in the house, and my understanding is that you have to go through one to get to another.

Bee-girl will continue her amazing year when everything is finally clicking. She’s Queen of the Social Realm at school and even her school work is coming up roses. She’s never going to be first in her class, but she’s pulling all As and Bs and both of us are doing cartwheels! Did I mention she scored a perfect 100 on the big standardized math test her class took? She’s getting it this year, and I am so relieved and proud I could weep.

The Xman will be five in a few weeks and hoo-boy am I ready to say good-bye to four! Our little guy has learned SO MUCH since I first met him, but I can’t wait to see how even more awesome he will be at the end of another year. Baby boy is practically buzzing with potential and is chock-a-block full of goofy personality. Kindergarten is going to help him reach all new levels of awesomeness this fall, I know.

And then there’s the whole Jeff-and-I thing. Who would have thought at this time last year that I would be part of a family of five right now, cohabitating with a guy?! I know! It hasn’t been without a metric ton of work, but it’s good work moving towards great things. We’ll probably start looking for a bigger house near the end of the year…if we’re still talking to each other. Who knows what a year will bring. Heh.

And me, by myself, with my brain that won’t shut off. I keep thinking about what I am going to do this year, how it will play out for me and this crazy mind of mine that doesn’t ever shut off. Right now it’s stuff full with things I want to accomplish. There’s the curtains (yes, Kim, I ordered them after you left) and throw pillows and coat racks that all add finishing touches to the living room. There are books to read (I stayed up way too late finishing my second of the year – Jandy’s Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere) and challenges to conquer. There’s the Hamilton soundtrack that I listened to and fell in love with on the way to work. And, yes, maybe a few pounds to lose. Or not.

So much promise. So many adventures. So much to be thankful for. Please, universe, let me hold on to all these happy, new year feelings for a good-ish long time.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Hello, 2016.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Yes, welcome to the Real World-ish! I am happy to be back here. I have missed you and your joy-filled, enthusiastic updates. I can’t wait to see what the year holds for us.

  2. Kim Says:

    You *have* been watching all those WWII documentaries…Heh.

Leave a Reply

