#AMonthOfFaves: Getting Sh%& Done!

amonthoffavessbutton

*Disclaimer: I’m working on less than two hours sleep (thanks, insomnia), so all efforts to be all organized and on track today are generally laughable. Forgive me.

Today’s prompt from our lovely co-hosts – Andi, Tamara, and Tanya – centers around How do you get sh%& done? What do you use to get organized, stay organized, and keep your wits about you?

Which is kind of laughable because not only do I not feel pulled together or organized at all this morning, my memory is quite mushy at the moment, as well. But let’s see!

The very first thing I thought of when I started thinking about organization is my pretty, pretty Erin Condren planner. I loves it so hard. It saves my bacon (mmm…bacon) every year during the holidays by helping me remember what we have for advent(ure) calendar activities, which kid has projects due when, what holiday party is coming up, and what to-do list item I’ve forgotten about. I bought my first Erin Condren planner last year as a luxury item, not knowing whether I’d get my money’s worth out of it or not. This year I didn’t hesitate to order myself one, and I let my daughter talk me into getting her one as her big gift from Jeff and I. I like the idea of her inching her way towards Organization Queen and I know she’ll use it for schoolwork and the like.

To keep us on top of Things Going On, we also use a weekly calendar dry erase board that’s framed and sits on the front of the fridge. The high-vis location means the girls and I both look at it multiple times a day and help us remember what we have going on specifically that week. It reminds me to send money with the girls to school for field trips, when someone needs to pack a lunch, and – most importantly – what’s for dinner each night. It also holds important things like the password for the wifi and odds and ends for the grocery list.

Speaking of grocery lists, what I use most for keeping notes organized and with me at all times is the notes app in my iPhone! It’s a great way to make sure my lists are with me at all times, and it’s easy to add items the girls or Jeff have written down on the white board onto my master list. I also keep odds and ends like the girls’ shoe sizes, Christmas gift ideas, or the name of that song I keep meaning to download.

And then there are my books. It’s a complicated, multi-faceted system. I have a physical shelf for storing books that are up next in my To Read plans. I have a little black book (uh, that is currently teal) in my purse in which I keep an ongoing list of books I want to read (so I know what to look for at the library or bookstore). And then I use both a handwritten book journal (that currently has eight years’ worth of books) filled with books’ titles, authors, and month finished, as well as Goodreads, to track what books I’ve read. Oh, and there’s a spreadsheet, too, where I track different metrics, like the name, author, date read, publisher, author’s gender, whether they are a person of color, who recommended the book, format, page tally, year published, and category. It’s a good way to make sure I’m reading diversely and to track other data.

They’re all tips and tricks to make sure I’m getting my sh%& done as effortlessly as possible. I can’t wait to pick up a trick or two once I’ve read what everyone else has shared!

6 Responses to “#AMonthOfFaves: Getting Sh%& Done!”

  1. Tanya Patrice Says:

    Wow! I’m loving your book organization system – the little black book is a great idea – as is the spreadhseet!

  2. Kim Says:

    I want to make some sort of schematic for your book organization system that’s framed and put on a book shelf, heh.

  3. Chrisbookarama Says:

    I’m just getting into the planner craze. It can be addictive!

  4. cANDI cane (@estellasrevenge) Says:

    Love your tools for keeping things straight. I know as Greyson gets older I’m going to need SOMETHING for the house to keep us all in line.

  5. travelingwitht Says:

    I have MAD LOVE for my Erin Condren planner. Yep!

  6. Michelle Says:

    I love my planner. I could not live without it. It has my life in there. I shudder to think what would happen should I lose it. (runs to hide in a corner and rock in fear)

Leave a Reply

