#AMonthOfFaves: 5 favorites for winter survival.

amonthoffavessbutton

Cough. Coughcoughcough. Still. Yep, still gloriously, maddening sick, but let’s see if we can find some joy in the day, okay? I might be a pitiful puppy, but I seriously love focusing on all the joy during #AMonthOfFaves! No telling how pitiful I’d be if I were allowed to wallow right now. So a big THANK YOU to our hostesses, Andi, T., and Tanya! (Go check out their faves. We’re going to emerge with so many winter-hacks today.)

So here we go! I’ll try not to make this medicine-cabinet-skewed…

Slippers1. Big fluffy slippers. Santa brings me a new pair every year because I wear my fluffy slippers so often, I tend to wear them out. I keep the house a bit cool-ish and my feet are always cold, so I tend to layer on the socks and add slippers! It’s much easier to find the joy in things when all your pieces are warm. Fact.

Package22. Happy scarves in soooo many colors! That bit about being warm? I’ve found scarves help. I’m a wear-it-around-the-house-and-office kinda girl, so I have them in lots of colors and weights. Bright, happy colors to cheer me up, and fluffy, ridiculously warm yarns to warm me. I even have a few barely-there scarves because Tejas and December are NOT always friends. (72° today, friends. How is that Christmas-y?)

Candle3. Pine-scented Yankee Candles. I turned into a candle person somewhere along the way. I think it was about the time I invited a smelly dog into our lives, coincidentally enough. I love lilac in spring and big fruity, juicy smells in summer. But as soon as a chill hits the air? BAM! Pine tree candles, all the way. What else smells more like Christmas? I could just drink it in and then maybe roll around in it, but whoa there comes the line between me and crazy, quickly approaching…

Chapstick4. Chapstick, chapstick, chapstick. I’m a chapstick whore. I am. Unabashedly. I have stations set up all over my house: one on the kitchen bar, one on my nightstand, one on my desk, one in my purse, one that stays at work… You get the idea. I used to love trying out all the newest technology in chapstick products: EOS, balm, that teeny-tiny adorable vaseline tin, bees wax, medicated, creams, tints… I was an easy sell! But my lips are fussier than anyone’s have a right to be, and one by one the products all started giving me allergic reactions. To keep my lips from flaking off and falling off my face, I had to retreat all the way back to the basic black Original Chapstick. And I have a zillion of them.

5. Big Sunday dinners. My mom used to make a big Sunday lunch (linner? dunch? Can it still be lunch if it’s served closer to 2pm than noon?) every week. It was something her family had done when she was little – start cooking a big meal as soon as they got home from church. We didn’t grow up as a church family, but for some reason the late lunch stuck. So for me, having pot roasts and roast beasts and pork tenderloins and whole chickens… it feels cozy and delicious and fills the whole house with happiness and contentment. Big dinners just taste better when it’s chilly outside, no?

There you have it, folks! I made an entire list without mentioning books or tissues with lotion or Vicks Vapor Rub. Oooh, or naps. How did I leave off naps?!

Tags:

6 Responses to “#AMonthOfFaves: 5 favorites for winter survival.”

  1. thenovellife1 Says:

    oh yes, naps on a cold winter day are the best! we have sunday dinners too!

  2. Chrisbookarama Says:

    I have sooo many scarves. Can’t do without them!

  3. Silver's Reviews Says:

    Love those pine-scented candles and fuzzy slippers.

    I actually answered the question incorrectly. LOL!! Oh well, my answer still works. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My A Month of Faves

  4. raidergirl3 Says:

    I can’t believe I left out cozy socks and slippers from my winter list. I must have warm feet which involves layers for sure. The big Sunday dinner is wonderful. I think it is called dinner when it is a supper served earlier. The big meal is dinner whenever you have it.

  5. Tanya Patrice Says:

    I LOVE scarves! When Fall hits, I wear them religiously everyday. I have an addiction and have maybe a few too many … some say 🙂

  6. travelingwitht Says:

    Scarves, candles and chapstick- even more reason to know that you rock 🙂

Leave a Reply

