Five for Friday.

We did it! We made it to Friday! And I have such Christmas-shopping, all-the-crafts, clean-the-house, try-on-clothes, call-the-family kind of plans this weekend! But before we get to that…

1. Even the might and responsible stumble sometimes. Gracie-girl pretty much spins on her own. She might need a hug from her mama from time to time, but other than that, she does her own homework, remembers her own deadlines and runs her own little world. But occasionally, she reminds me that she’s only eleven. Like when she forgot to bring back her clothes to her dad’s house and so she had to wear shorts to school on a day when it was only in the 50s. Brrrrr! But I bet she remembers for a good long while to bring her clothes back.

2. Maybe it’s a Through the Looking Glass kind of week because my other child, she who perpetually has us worried about her schoolwork, scored the highest score in the 4th grade on the reading benchmark test. Yes – reading!!!! I was so proud of her, I thought about doing flips and cartwheels across the living room. Seriously thought about it.

3. Non-fiction November is taking over completely. Not only am I reading only non-fiction, but I’m watching it now, too. Jeff and I tore through the World War II Apocalypse documentary that was on Netflix, and quite a few others that popped up as suggestions, too. Isn’t it funny how your tastes and craving can be so streaky? All I know is that curled up under a throw blanket with my sweetheart, letting the fall breeze float over us through the window, watching historical documentaries on the TV and chillin’ just feels so right, right now.

4. The Bee-girl had a stomp concert this week. She had to be to school by o’dark-thirty one morning this week, but she didn’t even care about having to get up early. She was so. excited. about getting to perform! A few of the girls weren’t able to go, and so Bee had to be the one who yelled out the call-and-response, so she was nervous, but more excited than nervous. Well. Mostly. The mayor was going to be there and the chief of all police and reporters and Wikipedia… I nearly lost it when she got to Wiki. I couldn’t help it. But my baby had fun and that is all that matters.

5. I need some fun craft ideas for Thanksgiving that go beyond paper plate turkeys. (Which are great, but still…) I’m afraid of falling down a pinterest-shaped hole, but I have a feeling that’s exactly what’s in my future. Maybe I can set a timer to wake me up when I’ve been under too long? Sigh. It really is unavoidable if I want to survive the next few weekends without resorting to cupcake everything.

So there you have it! A few quick hits. What’s floating around you brain that you need to download? Any fun plans for this weekend?

2 Responses to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Agent Torklepants Says:

    What about making prints with paint and apple halves, leaves (you might have to go out), sticks, do you even have pine cones there? Also you guys need to move past WWII and read/watch something on the Vietnam war. And if it gets too heavy you could start watching mash on Netflix!

  2. Kathy Says:

    I love your list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

