And the rain, rain, rain came down, down, down…

The rain in Spain falls mostly on the plain, but when it falls in Tejas all at once, it’s a great big pain.

I feel terrible complaining about it. It hasn’t rained since May (the last time it flooded) and we need the rain terribly. But 9 inches of rain in one weekend? That’s a little much.

At least it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. Yes, the streets flooded on Friday and at one point, all of the highways, even, were closed due to high water. But at least it took me only ten extra minutes to navigate home – not the two hours it took Kim and I back in May. And the back yard never reached ponding levels. We didn’t have to drive through the worst of it, either. Dealing with the dogs, on the other hand…

Ah, the dogs. Fenway is a bit of a spoiled princess and refuses to go outside if it’s raining. But then again, she can hold her drink. Bam the Destroyer, not so much. But that wasn’t (supposed to be) much of an issue this weekend. Thursday night Jeff took the demon-dog outside on his leash every so often, and then toweled off the dog when they came back inside. He grumbled about the toweling-off bit when Fenway doesn’t have to, but then I reminded him that Bam gets on the couches and Fenway doesn’t and I wasn’t going to be sitting anywhere a wet dog had been sitting.

And that should have been the end of it, because Friday morning Bam went to go with a potential new family. Our vet’s assistant was looking for a dachshund and had offered to try it out. I figured it would be perfect! She works part-time and her puppies are with her, so Bam would be alone far less and would be in a much calmer household. So Friday morning I packed up Bam’s stuff and went to introduce the puppies and all went smashingly! They got along well and I expected Bam in the pouring rain to be someone else’s problem!

Except I got a call on the way home that Bam had picked a fight with the other doxie and was being evicted. I was so mad at that dog that I told them to board Bam for the night and Jeff would collect him in the morning. There was no possible way I was going to be able to deal with him that night. I was so furious!

So that is how we came to be dealing with both spoiled dogs during the second flood of the year. Not exactly how I thought I’d be spending my weekend, but I like to think the added burden of being back at Square One with Bam the Destroyer is why the floods let up in the first place. I can only deal with so much at any given time, after all.

Leave a Reply

