Box full of awesome.

Back in August, when temps were even more annoying than they are now, but it was my birthday, so I didn’t really care, my sister Kim gifted me with one of my favorite birthday gifts – and I got a ton of really cool swag this year. She subscribed me to the Quarterly Box from Book Riot (my very favorite bookish community – go check them out!). Basically, the Quarterly Box is just what it sounds like: a box sent every three months that’s filled with books and bookish goods. I was over the moon excited! I’ve been drooling over the idea, but they’re a bit pricey and so I was holding off. For the moment, at least.

Yesterday, my Quarterly Box arrived on my doorstep. You guys – even the packing tape is insanely cool! Even though I didn’t know anyone from Milwaukee who’d be sending me stuff, I knew from that tape that it had to be my box…

QtlyBox1I carefully sliced it open, with bated breath…

QtlyBox2

Pretttttty. I loved the envelope and letter explaining, piece by piece, was what inside. It’s meant to be read after you explore your box, which is just what I did, because that’s how my sister and I work our packages. Bookish mindmeld, for the win!

The box was school-themed, now that it’s Fall (elsewhere, presumably) and we’re all campus-oriented. There were two books: Skippy Dies, by Paul Murray, about string-theory and falling in love and a boy’s prep school in Dublin and how the main character ends up dead. It’s been on my TBR list since it came out – huzah! The other, Zadie Smith’s On Beauty, is about how a family of immigrants adjusts in a small college town in Massachusetts and was really good. I know this because I’ve read it. (Kim thinks we should make a bet about how many books I get that I’ve already read. Sometimes being a velocireader is hard.)

Then there were the goodies! There’s a really soft bookish pennant that screams BOOKS! that is going up in my cubby at work. There’s a READ HARDER coozie that may be used for drinks, but may also be used around a glass for my pens and pencils at work. There’s a cool poster Murray designed that goes along with Skippy Dies, exclusive to the Quarterly Box. And there is a pack of Field Notes notebooks, perfect for all my bookish notes, lists, and whatnot. Ten boxes also came with a golden ticket, good for a signed copy of Murray’s next book, but alas – none were found in my box.

I knew the box would be awesome, and I knew I would have so much fun excavating each little gift inside, but I wasn’t prepared for how addictive these things would be. I may have already signed myself up for the YA box that ships in October. Which means I won’t have a box in November, and then my original box will appear in December… Must find some way to feed the bookish mail beast in November.

Thanks, Kim! But I fear you’ve only reinforced my main theory: Book addiction: better (barely) than a crack addiction.

QtlyBox3

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Box full of awesome.”

  1. Care Says:

    Wow! Sounds awesome! *\0/*

  2. #15in31 challenge update: Week 2 and wow do I read a lot. | Can't Get There From Here Says:

    […] Gracious, this was a huge book. And a lot was happening! It was one of the books included in my BookRiot Quarterly Box of Awesomeness that my sister gifted me for my birthday, which was rather cool because Skippy Dies has been on my […]

  3. A box of (self-indulgent) Young Adult awesome! | Can't Get There From Here Says:

    […] that time my sister signed me up for Book Riot’s Quarterly Box and I was over the moon excited? So excited, in fact, that I went out and signed myself up for the Young Adult version of the […]

Leave a Reply

