Beam us up, Scotty.

It’s that time of year again: school has started up, Fall routines are in high gear, and Casa de Katie is once again immersed in a routine of school and learning and curiosity. (The curiosity remained over the summer, but I must admit it was more of a “I wonder if green apple and grape slushie would mix well?” and “Mom, could we go to the pool again?” kind of curiosity.) It’s all good – my girls are fabulous about being engaged with the world – and even though we might grumble from time to time, we enjoy our routines.

Especially the one where we read a book out loud as a family after dinner and homework and showers.

Our Fall book is Andy Weir’s The Martian. I’ve read it four or five times and love the stuffing out of it. My girls love sarcasm and survival stories so I knew it would be a hit. Bee was a little concerned over the number of pages I was holding in my hands, but she’s been sucked in like the rest of us.

I love that. I love that moment when I can see the words reach out and wrap themselves around the littles. I love how when I put the book down to stir the spaghetti [I was cooking dinner for the grown-ups], Gracie immediately asked if she could read. Because two minutes is two minutes too long to wait. I love how Bee stopped her tumbling routine on the floor to hear what this dangerous plan to extract water was going to involve.

I love the ever-loving daylights out of the fact that no matter how many times I’ve corrected her, Bee keeps forgetting that Watney is a man and keeps referring to him as “her” and “she” when she’s asking questions or talking about the book. I’ve stopped correcting her. Let Watney be a badass female astro-botanist! In fact, I’m kind of tempted to change the pronouns as I’m reading.

We won’t be finished with the book before the movie comes out next week, and I’m torn. Part of me wants to take the entire fam (well, minus the Xman) out to see it. The girls clearly love the story as much as Jeff and I do. But part of me thinks we should stick with a clear winner for our Out Loud portions of the evening. We can always grab the DVD when it comes out. I’m not quite ready to give up seeing the happy tension as something dangerous happens, the anticipatory shrieks when I end on a cliffhanger, and the way Bee’s eyes still get round as saucers when I let an F-bomb fly off the page. That’s pure magic right there. And I love it.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Beam us up, Scotty.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    AWESOME!! Don’t go to the movie. Wait!!!!

Leave a Reply

