Quote of the Day.

I have more Princess Bride Legos, but bless it: I didn’t fall asleep until 3:30 a.m. last night and so I’m finding it hard to focus on saving and captioning them all. Instead, let’s pull out a beauty from this weekend. Otherwise I’ll forget all about it, and it’s cute enough to keep forever.

The scene: The Xman spent the first two hours of the day on Saturday in time-out because he was pitching a fit over getting his nails clipped. He had refused for his mom all week, and wasn’t allowed to watch TV or use the tablet or do anything until he chose to clip his nails. One bad choice led to another, and before you know it: time-out. So there the X-man stood, crying, carrying on, and calling everyone stupid in attempts to get a reaction out of the parents. Who (mostly) weren’t rewarding him with even a glance.

Much, much later in the day, the Xman and I were alone in the living room, conversing over Legos.

Xman: I don’t say bad words.
Me, thinking about that morning, but holding my tongue: Me, either. They can hurt people’s feelings.
Xman: I don’t say “stupid.”
Me: I’m glad you’re not going to say that word anymore. It’s not nice.
Xman: I don’t say “f*ck” either.
Me, eyes REALLY, REALLY wide: That’s a REALLY bad word!!!
Xman, oblivious: Uh huh.
Me, eyes still REALLY, REALLY wide: Even grown-ups don’t say that word.
Xman: I know.

And off he bounced to play, completely – and hopefully permanently unaware – of the ruckus or the hilarity he just caused.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Quote of the Day.”

  1. Trish Says:

    Oh I fear for the days when my babies have this kind of conversation with another grown up! Sometimes mommy’s mouth just can’t help it! Though “Fridge!” and “Scissors!” are usually my alternates. 🙂

    Xman sounds like he’s full of life!!

  2. Kathy Says:

    That cracked me up. I know I shouldn’t be laughing as hard as I am but after a weekend where everyone (not my children) used that word without caution or editing that is FUNNY stuff to me.

Leave a Reply

