Five for Friday.

Because sometimes all you can do is bury yourself in the details until you feel like climbing out. I’m still peeking from my hidey hole. But!

1. My morning started out rather awesome: Weezer, Budapest, Florence and Stone Temple Pilots on the radio. Killer jams to start my Friday? Mmm, if I must. Also, my outfit is both relaxing and patio-ready. (Though at some point I am sure falling off my platform flip flop/sandal things is inevitable. I actually put an ace bandage in the car.) So! Let’s just blow through Friday and get ready for some more killer jams, right?

2. It was a rather pleasant beginning that I think I earned after last night. Last night that ended with one of my girls yelling at the other that she wished she was dead and she should go ahead and kill herself. !!!  Yes, it was in response to a night of arguing and the other child getting up and yanking all of the blankets off her bed, and there was an awful lot of lying to mom when I tried to sort it out, but mostly we talked about the power of words and how totally and absolutely unacceptable those particular words are. How I know people who have killed themselves and how utterly awful it is. How even if you make up with someone, even after you apologize and the anger melts, those words don’t ever really leave a person. Everyone was sobbing. Punishment was meted out. And yeah. Funtimes.

3. The Patriots didn’t draft Wilfork back. (Yes, I’m still going on about that.)

4. Hey! Books! Because it’s time for something cheery now. It’s actually been a really good reading week for me, which I rather needed because ooof with the quality of my mediocre reads lately. This week I read Smoke Gets in Your Eyes about a young woman who takes up at a crematorium. It was a pretty decent (and delightedly disgusting) read if that’s your bag. I dove into Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan, after re-reading its prequel Will Grayson, Will Grayson. WG, WG is one of my all-time favorite books, so I was rather looking forward to Tiny’s musical. Tiny Cooper is, too, one of my favorite characters in all of literature. But Hold Me Closer didn’t add anything to Will and Tiny’s story. There were some good lines, and it wasn’t a waste of an afternoon, but still. It could have been so much more. Although I’d still love to see the musical. I read the spectacular debut by David Arnold, Mosquitoland, about a Harriet-the-Spy-esque teen who runs away to Cleveland to find her mom after finding out unfortunate news about her dad and new stepmom. I cannot recommend that book highly enough, even if there were a few nitpicky things I would have changed had I been the editor. Or author. Ahem. And then there was ToMo’s new classic, God Help the Child, which is the leading contender for Best Book of 2015. Seriously. Seriously powerful. Seriously heartbreaking. Seriously my favorite just after Beloved. It was a gorgeously and simply written story about not jumping to judge everyone because everyone has their hidden story. (Yes, everyone weighing in on Baltimore, talking to you.) This needs to be required high school reading. And life reading. And today I start Lost Boi by Sassafras Lowrey, a “subversive queer punk novel” that reimagines Peter Pan. I KNOW! I can’t hardly wait!

5. I need you all to send me your best “Pimp my Cubby” ideas. I’ve been collecting quite a few on Pinterest. I’m thinking swanky lamps, a cush designer chair, lots of color and accessories. Something that makes it feel like a really comfy, eye-pleasing home, even if we don’t get those pocket doors (with locks) in the redesign. It might not be an office, but I’ll be damned if I can’t find a way to make the best of it.

So! Hit me up! And let’s get this Friday started so I can go relax on the patio and start erasing the rest of this week. Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Agent Torklepants Says:

    #5 is a very dangerous request seeing as the Holla Store is about to debut their new summer lineup of Flamingo stuffs.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Did I mention I love your lists? And I hope Friday evening “washed-away” the week.

Leave a Reply

