Back from the Undead Lands of the Plague…or something.

You all thought I’d given up the ghost, hadn’t you?

I don’t really blame you. That was a pretty long time to go quiet. But see, this thing happened. The thing is that I was dying of The Plague, which was masquerading as allergies and an asthma attack that just would not, for the love of Pete, ever end, and that was all masquerading as bronchitis. Really it was a 10-day long period of suck, is what I’m telling you. But I’m starting to emerge on the other side. Finally.

I think it’s partly my own doing. Well, that and the fact that ThePlaceThatShallNotBeNamed is filled with sick people who don’t have enough time to stay home the entire time they’re sick (not that I’m throwing stones in that particular glass house). See, The Plague hit me over Spring Break, right when I didn’t have time to be sick. And what had I been doing for the week or two before Spring Break?

Staying up all hours chatting with boys. Well. A boy.

I’d either be up talking and texting, or smuggling my guy in after the girls were asleep, and we’d stay up late talking and talking and talking over glass after glass of wine, finding out all the fun things there are to find out at the start of a new relationship. I figured this phase where everything is new! and shiny! and makes me smile for no reason!, this part isn’t going to last very long. I plan on wringing every moment of happy out of it before it either crashes and burns…or turns into something else. (Why is the crashing and burning part always so much easier to picture?)

So of course I got sick, because I am not 22 anymore, and I apparently can’t live on 5-6 hours of sleep a night for weeks on end. And so The Plague happened. Only it happened at the worst possible moment, as these things are wont to do, because then I wanted to spend Spring Break going out to dinner and for drinks and maybe even to his house and not have to worry about being home because the girls spent the week at their dad and stepmom’s house. So that’s what I did. There were a lot of naps after work and late night dinners and somehow, some way, everything seemed to work.

It was maybe not the most responsible thing I’ve ever done, but you know what? I had a lot of fun. Even sick with The Plague. Maybe a few months from now this spring fling will make me roll my eyes at the fact that I will never, ever learn. Or maybe I’ll still roll my eyes, but be proud of the fact that I grabbed at the silver ring instead of curling up in a ball and just sleeping my way through a week I could have used to do so much more. Maybe it’ll have turned into a summer fling and fall fling and I’ll still be waiting to catch up on all of my sleep, still listening to stories and tidbits and funny-things-that-happened-once.

I just hope by then, whatever happens, I’m finally over the last little bit of this Plague. Because the reminder that I’m not a young 20-something anymore I could really live without!

One Response to “Back from the Undead Lands of the Plague…or something.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Ohhhh, you saw him when you were sick. Now THAT is some fling. If you are comfortable enough to be with him when you aren’t 100% he must be something special.

Leave a Reply

