Five for Friday.

Blerrrrrrgh. I am not even half awake, bloggy readers. I stayed up way too late texting, and there was that wonderful hour I spent not-sleeping somewhere in the middle of the night. I see lots of tea and lattes in my future. So here we go. Let’s see if I can even count to five.

1. Insomnia is stupid, stupid, stupid. And apparently, so am I. I popped wide awake, like I said, at 3 a.m. at quarter past four, with no end of my sleeplessness in sight, I got up and took half a dose of Nyquil. I thought that was safe! And sometime, at least 20 minutes later, I did fall asleep. Praise the baby jeebus! Except I am so. flippin’ tired. I can barely function. I’m thinking half a dose is a wee bit too strong for ninety minutes of sleep. Whoops.

2. But! The reason I went to sleep so late is because I was texting this guy. This hott guy who I somehow canoodled into going out on a second date this Saturday. I KNOW! I am so used to these guys failing First Date that I almost don’t know what to do with myself! And he even offered to look at my car. I keep waiting for the shoe to drop, but I already have my comfort ready: I’ll be able to get in all eight hours of sleep. (Yeah, pretty lame. I know.)

3. In news almost as awesome, after a poor start with two marks, Bee-girl finished the week with a very strong mark-free two days! Huzzah! She even was the only person to get 100% on the fraction worksheets they did – both days! I am so proud of her! (And relieved!) But I have to laugh: Bee struggles with simple addition and subtraction, reading, and even mastering capitalization. But the girl aces every fractions and poetry assignment we through at her. Because of course she does.

4. I watched the first episode of Outlander last night – yes, I know I’m very late to the party – and zomg!! I’m hooked! And I was all excited because I thought I found the motherlode, but apparently only the first episode is free. Le sigh. So all of you need to email me privately with your Starz passwords, mkay? I already looked into adding Starz and my provider doesn’t offer it. And switching providers (ummm…not that I considered that just for Outlander) will take too long. So: Logins. Stat.

5. This week I finished the incredibly witty and sarcastic and hilarious and strangely, subtly poignant book This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper about a son and brother whose dad dies, but not before making a last request that the family sit shiva. Oh! And also our protag just walked in on his wife having an affair with his shock-job boss. RIGHT?!  I’m so sad I waited so long to read it! I highly recommend. I also finished the even more amazingly written and powerful The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie. I’m usually not a short story person, but I picked this up for my Read Harder challenge, and wow. Each story is a stunner. Modern stories about Native Americans might be one of my new things. The last book I finished was Ryan Graudin’s The Walled City. It was okay. Kind of like Maze Runner meets A Walk Across the Sun meets Behind the Beautiful Forevers. It was pretty good – readable, but not the kind of story that absolutely pulls me in and makes me impatient to pick it up again. And very YA.

So there you go! I’m a bit more awake now after having to string together sentences. So thank you, bloggy world. You always know how to fix me.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

