In which we plan the awesomest scavengers hunts that ever were.

Last night I found myself standing in the kitchen, smiling. It probably looked a little odd because the girls were standing there bickering and maybe shoving a little, and I didn’t even care. It was kind bickering, if such a thing exists; excited bickering. My girls are so lucky: they have such a big village of people who love them and look out for them, people who are rooting for them to succeed.

We came home yesterday to find this giant – GIANT – package waiting by the front door. I saw it as I pulled into the garage and tried to think of what in the world I had ordered that would come in such a big box. Then when I went to get it, I saw the return address and smiled.

Inside, we opened the box and found this:

MicroscopeMeet Pixar! (Of course we named her.) She is the coolest microscope around. And the girls have the coolest uncles, don’t they? Bee and Gracie spent the night exploring the buttons and twist-knobs and slidey-things and pretty much everything that moved. We made plans for a science afternoon on Saturday after gymnastics and you would have thought I told them we were having a second Christmas. I love my nerdlings!

But then it got even better. Because just as I was posting a giant “thank you!” post to Facebook, my cousin texted me to see if I had gotten any packages. After I finished BLAHH!!!ing over our new toy, he gave me lots of cool tips and tricks and ideas of items to inspect. Celery. Apples. Velcro. Teeny-tiny monsters from stagnant water. Bugs. Flies’ eyes. You know. Which then turned into us plotting a science-based scavenger hunt for the girls. Because OF COURSE! I kind of cracked up at the idea – when we were little, it was my cousin’s mom who would send us kids off on scavenger hunts through the house and yard. “Find something soft.” “Find a wet washcloth.” “Find a red leaf.” I loved so hard that now we were doing sort of the same thing – only upping our scavenger hunt game to the next level. It’s on like Donkey Kong. (Which I will say just to watch Gracie roll her eyes at me. Heh.)

Yeah, it was a pretty awesome night. I just maybe shouldn’t have mentioned to the girls the bit about scraping cheek cells to look at on the slides I ordered. Because I was more than a little bit afraid to go to sleep after I saw the light in their eyes turn on me, like they were inspecting me for other body parts they could snip and inspect. I’m going to wake up one night and see them standing over me with scalpels, I just know it!

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “In which we plan the awesomest scavengers hunts that ever were.”

  1. Kim Says:

    Bee will be hovering over you, scalpel in hand. Gracie will be standing next to the bed with an anatomy book and a flashlight. “Yep – she definitely only needs one kidney.”

  2. Shayne Says:

    I love this post. And our shared scavenger hunt memories.

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    For the record I still had my coat on at xmas when Kene showed me, he was so excited! =0]

  4. Bestie adventures, past and present. | Can't Get There From Here Says:

    […] pulled out the Really Awesome Microscope that just sort of fell into our hands and all four of the girls fought over turns and slides and […]

  5. Kathy Says:

    Love this. Are they still so excited about the microscope?

Leave a Reply

