And the winner of the Supreme Laziness Award goes to…

Last night after dinner, as I was cleaning up the kitchen, the girls retreated into the living room to wait for me to come read another chapter or two of Anne of Green Gables. Gracie was playing with the Legos that were on the coffee table, and Bee was playing with something on the girls’ laptop.

Now, before I get into what Bee was actually doing on her laptop, I have to tell you about the Calico Critter Craziness that has descended over Casa de Katie. Bee has received a few families and playsets the past two years. She has the Fisher Cat family (because OF COURSE SHE DOES), the Elephant and Hedgehog and Rabbit families, and maybe the general store and school. I thought this Christmas that it was close to the time when I needed to draw down – Bee is almost nine, after all; she won’t want to play pretend much longer.

False.

Bee decided at Christmas that she wanted to collect allll the Calico Critters that ever was. She wants all of the houses, all of the families, and all of the furniture. Ev-er-y-thing. And she somehow hoodwinked her too-cool-for-anything older sister to get in on the scheme, too. They combined their Christmas money from Grandma and Grandpa to get a Calico Critter house and some furniture. And then they combined their marbles to cash in for more money to get even more furniture. Bee looked over her Calico Kingdom and sighed happily, declaring that she was never, ever giving her Calico Critters away: she was going to save them for always, just like Auntie Kim did with her Precious Places playset. Okay then.

Which is why I maybe shouldn’t have been surprised last night when I embarked on this conversation, as I tried to make sure Bee wasn’t watching something inappropriate on YouTube.

“Whatcha watching, Bee?”

“Calico Critters,” she answered, barely looking up from the screen. (Scratch that – there was no “barely”. Her eyes didn’t budge. At all.)

I innocently replied, “Oh, they have a show, too? I didn’t know that.”

“No, it’s someone playing with them,” she answered, still riveted. Now I could hear voices – kids’ voices – coming from the video.

I was a bit dumbfounded, but I wanted to make sure I had it right. Because whaaaa? “So…you’re watching a video of other people playing?”

“Yeah. They have all the pieces!”

“Why don’t you go play with the Calico Critters that you have?”

“They have all the pieces!!”

Well okay then. My child is officially the laziest. Watching movies of people playing with toys she owns. Good grief.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “And the winner of the Supreme Laziness Award goes to…”

  1. Kim Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHA. Oh, man. That’s priceless.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

