This better save an awful lot of sanity.

You guys – I did a crazy thing. Yes, I know: that’s not that extraordinary. But this, this is really crazy. I bought a planner. An Erin Condren planner. Told you – batcrap crazy.

I’ve tried planners before. When I started here at ThePlaceThatShallNotBeDiscussed, they bought me a very nice leather DayTimer, and then (because they were all the rage) a Palm Pilot. I used them a little, but not really enough. I even picked the DayTimer back up a few years later and gave it another go, but I had problems writing everything down. I couldn’t make it a habit. I had Outlook at work to keep my day nice and tidy, but when it came to integrating my work schedule and personal schedule? Checking in after I left work? Whoops. I had the same results when I tried to use my wedding and pregnancy planners. I’d start off with the best of intentions, only to find the rest of the planner was gloriously untouched. Clearly planners were not for me.

But then this past month happened. Things at work were crazier than usual – I know because I was using my long forgotten Lamaze breathing to get through the day. Added to that, I had eight bagillion things going on in my personal life, and there weren’t enough sticky notes and lists in the world to keep me afloat. It was bad. I was anxious all of the time, trying to keep track of everything. Never had lists failed me so hard.

And then a friend posted about her planner that had just arrived. Her personalized planner, filled with all sorts of goodies and add-ons. She went on about how excited she was and generally, well, unknowingly sold the product to me. Before I knew it, I was on Erin Condren’s Web site, looking to see what the fuss was about, watching promotional videos and checking out the different covers I could choose. Before I knew it, I was daydreaming about all of the ways I could track the craziness governing my days. I’d have one place to look to keep track of to-do lists, appointments, deadlines, meal plans…

But I’m not the kind of person who uses a planner. I’m a curious mix of old-school physical lists (and sticky notes – don’t forget the sticky notes) and 21st century technology. I might use sticky notes to remind me about a doctor’s appointment, but I keep my running grocery list in my notes section on my phone. Could I actually use the planner enough to justify the absolutely INSANE price?

I gambled, in a moment of weakness, on the answer being yes. I picked out my covers, chose my personalization, and added a few extras, like the rubber bands to keep the planner tidily closed, and the wire clips to keep things like invitations attached instead of loose-leaf. I know I’m going to migrate towards some sort of color-coding system before long, but…

Good god, what have I done? Yes, I’m still having moments like that, despite the fact that I know several people who use these planners and adore them. Mostly I’m gobsmacked by how much money I put down on a binder. A ridiculous amount of money, when you consider I could have purchased a notebook and calendar for $2 at Walmart. My yankee heart is crying tears into my empty pocketbook. But another part of me – the part of me that rather enjoys color-coding and list-making and sanity-keeping – is relishing in all the possibilities.

So let’s see. Let’s see if we can make this experiment work and turn the tide of anxiety. At least now, if things go well, I will know exactly how many things I’m supposed to be doing, all at the same time.

Planner1

Planner2

 

Tags: ,

One Response to “This better save an awful lot of sanity.”

  1. Agent Torklepants Says:

    I just giggled for a good 5 min at the thought of you with a palm pilot lol. Im making my own prettypretty planner with staples! Ill let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

