Final thoughts on this weekend’s #Readathon.

What an experience! I feel like my first #Readathon really was like a rearders’ holiday: the great commotion and anticipation leading up to the day, the absolutely insane atmosphere the day of, and then then oh-my-gosh where’d-it-all-go-ness right after. Given that, I wanted to capture a few thoughts about my day while they’re still swirling around.

Reading: The actual reading was a little different than I thought. I anticipated more time in the trenches when it felt like I was slogging it out. The “ugh – more reading” feeling didn’t hit until much, much later than I thought – maybe about 4ish? That’s Hour 10, people. I can do ten hours of reading without feeling it. Hunh. In fact, I kept wish I had more time to sit and “just” read! Between letting the dog in and out, the mini-challenges, social media, and cheering, there were blocks of time when I spent more online than I did in my book.

Social media: Cheering is the absolute BEST, you guys! The lists were a little long, so I didn’t get to “hang out”, per se, and really get invested in any new reading friends, but I did hit all 70 people sent my way. I ended up breaking it up so I would cheer for this section during one break, that section during another, but I think it all worked out. I also spent a goodish amount of time answering tweets, and posted a few updates to Facebook so the fam could keep up with how I was doing (they are not twitterers). I felt compelled to write an update or two for the blog, just because I had nattered on about it so much last week. And by the time I had done all of that, I really didn’t have any time left for mini-challenges. I participated in the first one or two, just because I was awake! and reading! and DOIN’ IT ALL! But by the third hour, I realized I was going to have to jettison some things overboard if I was going to, you know, actually read. So the challenges were sacrificed. I felt bad; I felt like I was missing out on a big part of the online party, but I knew it was necessary.

Snacking: Most people talking about the readathon also talked about their snacking plans and I totally bought in! I would pick up this! and that! And have this fancypants treat for lunch! and… well, none of it really happened. I did treat myself to some poached eggs and hash browns, and later splurged on take-out sushi for dinner, but…that was it. No snacking on all the snacks for me.

The Wall: It was Hour 17 for me. I was exhausted, despite my frequent breaks to hop online, my phone call with my sister to break things up, and the quick trip outta the house to grab dinner. I had read three books already and was trying to push through my fourth and I just. wanted. to sleep. It was a great book (Wonder, by R.J. Palacio); the pace was quick, the voice was catchy, the plot was interesting… I just couldn’t keep my eyes open. I tried jumping jacks, I tried a hot bath, I tried chatting online. Finally I gave in, dragged a couple books with me into bed, and read there.

The Results: Sometime after 1 a.m., I fell asleep. You could say I failed to hit the 24-hour challenge. And I did. But you know what? It’s FOR FUN. So it doesn’t bother me so much. I read for most of ’em. I read four books. In a single day. I met some amazing people online and had a wonderful time. I felt so accomplished on Sunday. It was lovely.

Would I do it again? Absolutely. I would probably make sure I got more sleep the night before. My experiment in staying up late two night in a row didn’t work because I am apparently an old woman who can do no such thing. Heh. And I might pace myself better in the early hours. Other than that, the entire thing was incredible. I can’t wait for the next one!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

