Five for Friday.

Man, I didn’t think Friday would ever get here this week! There have been entire days when I was so busy I didn’t get to so much as sit down at my desk. So what’s been whirling through my mind when I had a moment to think…

1. I’m feeling all the feels this week. I know part of it is the overwhelming week, when everything seemed to go wrong. A dear friend is also involved in some relationship drama and we, his merry band of friends, are trying to rescue him. Relationship drama = high school, and high school = Tori. I’ve had Little Earthquakes playing on a loop in my car. “Tear in Your Hand” on constant loop on the way to work is maybe not the most sane way to start a Friday, but it does beg the question: what is Charles Manson’s favorite ice cream, anyway?

2. On a happier note! (Because, Friday!) I am going to see Gone Girl tonight with a girlfriend and I can’t even. We’re going to a movie tavern, so there will be drinks and appetizers and we may be dressing up to see it just because we’re insane like that. Here’s hoping all the good review that have preceded its release measure up…

3. Our house has been filled with lots of good books lately. We started a new book for our read-aloud family book: Kate’s Book by Mary Francis Shura. It’s a pioneer story set in 1843, in which 12-year-old Kate’s family moves from Ohio to Oregon, so basically Laura Ingalls with more spunk and a wider cast of characters (because wagon train). The girls are enjoying it, Bee more so than Gracie. Gracie has also been reading Maze Runner after we do our out-loud reading, because I told her I wasn’t taking her to see the movie unless she read the book. Mwa ha. I’ve been reading Kate Racculia’s Bellweather Rhapsody about a statewide band and drama competition that takes place in an old and storied hotel during a snowstorm. Oh, and a murder happened there years ago. Very The Shining-esque. You guys – really, it’s amazing. The tone reminds me a lot of Alan Bradley’s Flavia de Luce series (Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, etc.), except a bit more literary. I should finish it this weekend.

4. Oh my god Halloween costumes. The girls are killing me this year. “I wanna be a tornado again! No, cops and robbers! No, a punk rocker! Or a biker chick!” Round and round and round. I had sold them on an old fashioned cop and robber, with stripey prison clothes and a money bag with a dollar sign on it for the robber (Bee), and a handle bar mustache and an old-fashioned bobby suit for the cop (Gracie). Except Gracie changed her mind. Then I wanted them to dress as the Yip-Yip monsters from Sesame Street – I found a really easy How-To and all I would need is a ton of terry cloth and some black felt. And giant googly eyes. Which – awesome. But nooooo. Bee has clung to Robber so hard (because she gets a giant candy sack a la her money bag), but Gracie is settled on biker chick. Just when I was warming up to finding a leather jacket for her and maybe dying her hair pink and purple and mousing it into spikes, she changes her mind and wants to be a nerd. STAWWWWWP.

5. A giant storm blew through last night, bringing with it a cold front. I am looking forward to jeans and yoga pants and socks and long sleeve tees like whoa. And foooood, Grommit. We had a big roast beef dinner on Sunday last week, so this week might be Shepherd’s Pie. Is there anything better about fall than getting to make cold-weather foods for the first time? I might change my menu more times than the girls have changed their Halloween costumes! Only it’s okay because I’m the mama and the chef and job perks.

That’s it! Here we go Friday! What are you looking forward to this weekend?

Tags: ,

One Response to “Five for Friday.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Here’s to the end of a l-o-n-g week!! Have a drink for me when you go to the movies. Enjoy the cool weather. We will be dealing with the rain.

Leave a Reply

