Five for Friday.

Here’s what I’ve got rattling around in my head this Friday…

1. Football! I was looking forward to a reset over Week 1, but the Steelers let me down. How can there be any justice in a universe that lets the Ravens win this week? Okay, I know we shouldn’t hold Ray Rice’s teammates culpable for what went down, but I haven’t quite figured out how to let them have a win without also letting the higher-ups in the organization also claim it. That was disappointing.

2. I finished a few books this week. Kelley Armstrong’s Omens, which was recommended to me by my friend Tiffany. It was okay – I’m just a leetle bit over this whole supernatural thing, the entire plot was based on happy coincidences/white-suburbia fantasy fulfillment, and Armstrong likes to tell not show. I also finished The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan, a non-fiction book about young women recruited during World War II to live and work in a newly created “secret city” in Tennessee – where they unknowingly helped enrich uranium to be used in atomic bombs. My sister Kim (of all people – not the world’s biggest history fan) passed along this one. She knows how much I love World War II history, but she captured the book perfectly: it was interesting, but the author really needed to decide whether she wanted to write a historical novel or a straight non-fiction piece. Not that I’m doubting the reporting put forth; it’s just that her voice felt off. I need something highly engaging if you want me to sit through a bunch of fact. Or a chunk of make-believe, for that matter. The third book I finished was Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow. I’m torn between re-reading it immediately, and sending it to Kim to read. I loved the stuffing out of it, so it’ll get its own post later.

3. The girls are having a lock-in at their grandma’s church tonight. They’re each bringing a friend and they’re so(!) excited(!). Bee keeps calling a lock-down instead of a lock-in, which gives me the giggles. I’m sure Grandma and the other chaperones are going to wish it was a lock-down by morning!

4. Speaking of lockdowns, how much do you love this cover of Kanye West’s Love Lockdown by the Glass Animals?!

5. Today’s going to seem very dull. Yesterday, my mom was released from rehab (no, she wasn’t ready; yes, she’s home anyway), it was 9/11 and all whatever at ThePlaceThatShallNotBeNamed, and then I met Gary Sinise. So. Yeah, definitely not the same speed as yesterday. The day just isn’t the same when you know it won’t include hott actors.

That’s what I’ve got going on today… Hope your day speeds by and your weekend brings mucho sleep. Ooh, and fun things, because your life might be much more exciting than mine.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

