Because duck tours are better than almost anything else.

Because there are so many other things going on right now that I just don’t want to deal with (aging parents, start of school, tweens and the internet, boys, tricky home renovation projects, HELLO STRESS EASE UP ALREADY), I thought we’d take a look back to that lovely little week called vacation.

Ahhhh, vacation!

Vacation had lots of fun things, like that one day we took the train into Boston to do some touristy stuff. We didn’t get to spend nearly as much time in the city as we wanted – I had to forgo my steamers at the Barking Crab, and we didn’t get to explore the freedom trail, or visit the ducklings in the Boston Gardens – but we did get to do a Duck Tour with the girls and spend a few hours at the Museum of Science.

IMG_4808

Yes, they let Gracie drive the duckboat. Insane, right?! Our tour guide was amazing – he was witty and irreverent and just our kind of Boston (even if he did have on a Bledsoe jersey instead of Brady’s). He was filled with all kinds of facts about the city and the duck boats themselves. I could have listened to him for hours.

IMG_4793

 

The cemeteries and parks and gardens were all so amazing! We definitely are going to have to spend a couple days in the city walking around next year. Or maybe I’ll leave the childrens at the museum with Auntie Kim and Auntie Rhi and I can go on our own little historical walkabout. Heh.

IMG_4794

I’m rather in love with this pic of the Hancock Tower and the Trinity Church near Copley Square. Gorgeous. (Fun fact: my high school sweetheart took me into Boston for our 6-month anniversary and took me to the observation deck of the Hancock Tower and we did a tour of the Trinity Church. Very romantic, even if you’re 16 and have idea how to appreciate how amazing the architecture is.)

 

IMG_4800Because who could resist? I mean, obviously.IMG_4810This pic fills my heart with so much love. Boston, you’re my home!

After the duck tour (I wish desperately that I could show you the pic of Auntie Rhi and Bee-girl making their zombie duck faces), we spent some time at the Museum of Science. We could have spent days there. In fact, I bet I could get Gracie to read From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frainweiler now if I got her to switch out the museum in NYC for the Museum of Science in Boston. She was that in love.

IMG_4834 IMG_4832 IMG_4826 IMG_4835

They got to explore a room filled with electricity, one filled with sounds (both Bee’s favorites), one filled with inventions (where we lost Gracie for a good portion of our time), robots, animals and habitats, and on and on and on… Oh, and optical illusions. Gracie-girl was obsessed with that one, trying to figure out the tricks behind them. I could practically see the steam coming out of her head as she thought so hard about the hows and whys. Is there anything better for a mama than seeings your kiddos really snag their attention on something and dive in so deep that they don’t want to surface? Curiosity is one of the best personality traits a person can have, in my opinion, and I try so hard to develop that in my girlies. Good job, Museum of Science!

It was a long day, even if it was filled with only a few different activities. The girls were knackered on the trip home, and the grown-ups only a little less so. Fun, adventure, boats, Boston, and trains – not a bad outing at all!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

