Gone girls.

Sometimes quiet is really, really quiet. I grew up in a house where quiet was more than an endangered species – it was nearly extinct. Our house was never quiet (well, unless our dad was asleep and we were all too afraid to make a peep). At night, after the kitchen was closed and lights were mostly off and my mom and the kids who were still up were gathered watching television, our house would hush…but never really quiet. It’s like the memories of all the kids and friends and cousins and aunts and uncles and general hustle and bustle of running a large(r) household were still echoing off the walls.

My house is relatively quiet, at least compared to that. I don’t run a radio constantly for background noise the way my mom will. The TV isn’t on unless we’re watching it (and during the school year we enjoy a screen-free school-week). But two very chatty girls (and their mama) and a boisterous, attention-needy puppy still makes for considerable noise.

And that’s just when we’re running ops normal! When you add in a crazy auntie who’s visiting, plus the fact that it’s summer break and our own staycation, and pandemonium sets in. But a good kind of pandemonium. It was lovely having Rhi here. The girls were happy and well-behaved. Auntie Rhi made for a fine ring leader of our little circus. I’d come home and Gracie had done the girls’ laundry (a summer rule) and Bee had put away the clean dishes from the dishwasher (her summer chore). A new load of dirty dishes was loaded. Counters were wiped down. New flamingo decorations were added every day. Summer reading and book reports had been supervised. And best of all, I had someone to talk to about my day as I chugged down a glass (or three) of wine. (ThePlaceThatShallNotBeDiscussed has been stressy – and that’s the understatement of the year.) Two weeks have never flown by so fast!

Yesterday, Rhi abandoned me to go back to Connecticut because she doesn’t love me enough to stay…or because her work won’t give her any more time off, one of the two. And Gracie and Bee went off to their dad’s house for their July visitation. I’ll still have the girls for dinner two nights a week and every other weekend. In fact, tonight is one of our dinners and this weekend is my weekend, which actually starts tomorrow since it’s a long weekend, so it’ll be like July hasn’t happened yet. But that didn’t stop me from missing all my people when I got home. The quiet was too unsettling. Poor Fenway looked behind me at least a dozen times, waiting for the girls to appear. When that didn’t happen, she walked from room to room to room looking for her bestie, Auntie Rhi. When she realized she was stuck with me and only me, the poor puppy lied down at my feet and sighed all the sighs. She didn’t even want to play fetch, the poor, friendless pup.

The first few days are always the hardest. You’d think I’d be ready for a break from the girlies, and I’ve found I usually am – for a few hours. Then 7:30 hits, when they’d usually be getting home from their dad’s house, and I start to really miss them. I’m sure this weekend will cure me, though. We’ll have all the fun for the 4th, and enjoy all sorts of weekend fun, and then Fenway and I will go back into withdrawal on Sunday night.

July – it is the best of times, it is the worst of times. And definitely, surely, without a doubt too quiet.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Gone girls.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    So sorry work is stressy – there is A LOT of that going around. Oh, and the quiet – I know how that it. Even after all these years, with much older kids, I am still only good for about 48 hours. And, since they are never usually gone more than 2 or 3 days it’s ok. But they leave tonight and I think they will be gone a whole week. Their dad keeps changing the schedule so I will either die from quiet or die from not knowing the schedule.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Next year I’m rigging the pantry with a blow horn instead of Francisco the Flamingo. That’ll cure your quiet jitters :0)

Leave a Reply

