Declare It Day.

I’m a little late to the party. Today is not February. In fact, it’s no longer even May. It’s June. June 3, 2014. But so what? It doesn’t have to be February. Screw February – today is my Declare It Day.

Back in February, this little outfit I’ve fallen madly in love with – Fellow Flowers – hosted the real Declare It Day. You chose a goal, declared it, and hundreds of runners in your running community not only held you responsible, but helped you along your path. Your path to awesomeness, because you know what? You were going to achieve your goal. No matter what.

I’m making today my Declare It Day.

You know why? Because I can. Because it’s a made-up holiday and you’re allowed to move it, change it, make it your own. Because there are no rules when it comes to declaring goals – there’s only achieving them, or not. And I’m going to achieve mine. Why? Because I am. Because I am determined. Because I am surrounded by an awesome community of friends and supporters. Because my East Coast Running Cult demands it. Heh. Simply because I will.

I signed up for a half-marathon, you guys.

A half. marathon. Thirteen point one flippin’ miles. Of running. All put together. That’s so not what I’m running right now. I’m doing three miles, three or four times a week. That’s a 5k, not a 20k! I’ve done 5ks before. And I did a 10k once (so I could get the medal at the end; they don’t give out medals at 5ks). But never in my life have a run thirteen miles before.

It was because of the stupid coupon. I mean, I had been thinking about it. Waffling back and forth over whether I would sign up or not. Or maybe I would train for it, but not commit myself. Just show up and run it if I could. But…that seemed like wimping out. And I knew I would chicken out of training during the tough months, the tough miles if I didn’t commit myself. That’s when I saw the coupon in my inbox: $10 off registration if I signed-up by Saturday night. And just like that…I found myself plunking down my money for the race. For the half-freaking-marathon.

I know it sounds like I’m freaking out. And I am, a little. But not because I don’t think I can do it. I bloody well can do anything I set my mind to do. (Yes, even math.) I’m a little nervous because this, this thing I’m about to do, it’s such a big thing. I’ve watched friends sign-up for and conquer the half. I’ve cheered for friends as they kicked the marathon to the curb like it wasn’t no thang. I watched them train and ready themselves, from runners like me into…well, into people who run freaking half- and full- marathons! I can do this. I will do this.

These friends of mine, I know they’ve got my back. My friend Corri, part of my East Coast Running Cult, I know she’s definitely stepping up and supporting me; she was so excited for me and my running journey when she heard the news that she signed up for the same race! So I wouldn’t be running alone. And Julie, my oldest and dearest friend, she moved heaven and earth to clear her schedule for that weekend so she could fly down with Corri to support us and take pictures and make sure we make it to the beer tent and to Irish Nachos (in that order) after we cross the finish line. And all of my friends online who have clapped me on the back, made a fuss, cheered my decision – it all means so much. It makes me confidant. It makes me sure. I am ready for this. I am going to do this.

March 1. Nine months to train. Nine months before I execute. You’ll hear all the details, all the whining, all the accomplishments. I might not look like a runner. I might not train like a runner. I might not even run like a runner. But Imma do it. I am going to run a half-marathon. And I will be phenomenal.

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Declare It Day.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Woot! Woot! I am so stinkin’ proud of you! You amaze and inspire every day, from your awesome single-momness, to your extreme reading and yes, your running. I will cheer you on from here – and I will run some miles for you too.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Stop using the word waffling. Im hungry again -_-. As if we didnt already know you could do it, ill just say that 13 is a lucky number for us. Its your bday. And its my bday backwards. My bday is unlucky but backwards means 13 IS lucky. =0D So. There. If anything just worry about that .1 extra mile…

  3. Kim Says:

    Hahahahaha – “extreme reading.” Kathy captured that dead on! The only sport that might beat your love of football…

  4. Trish Says:

    Awesome awesome awesome!!! I can’t wait to hear all the details–which race?

  5. Lisa Says:

    Congrats! You can totally do it!

  6. Ange Says:

    I just want to say…this is a long time coming…and I am SO HAPPY you have declared it. *This* will change your life and it will be a wonder and an extreme accomplishment for you. Your girls will never forget your courage and determination, nor will I. Congratulations on taking that first step (which is the hardest!) by signing up. Go, go, go! Woot!!

Leave a Reply

