When the thought really DOES count.

I was bracing for one of those nights. It was Monday, Gracie was sick, the girls had a pile of homework, and we had to pick up some prescriptions – not exactly an errand I could put off. So I wasn’t expecting a good night, never mind a moment that melted my heart.

It helped that Gracie was feeling a bit better than she was the night before. The girls got through dinner without any arguments (a minor miracle on a Monday), Bee launched into her homework without any fuss, and Gracie happily took her shower once I promised the steam would help loosen up the junk in her lungs. And then after the shower, Gracie got out and asked me, as she was rather hilariously trying to work her wet hair into a bun, if she could look something up on the computer.

“You have homework tonight, Gracie,” I reminded her.

“It’ll be really quick, I just need to check something,” she explained.

There was something in her voice, but I didn’t quite know what it was. Just that something was up. “What do you need to check?” I asked.

“Something…” she drawled out, sounded overly casual, and desperately hoping I wouldn’t notice she was being very vague.

“What kind of something?” I pressed. Because mama-senses.

“Something for Mother’s Day!” she harrumphed, but in a good-natured way.

I told her she could use my laptop, but that she had to be quick about it.

A few minutes later, I walked into the room and saw her rush to flip over a piece of paper. “Mom, how do you know when to click on things that say ‘enter your code here’?” she asked. Ruh roh. What was she doing?! I explained to her that those pop-ups were scams, and her face fell a little.

“But it’s for a free something! I heard it on the radio!” she assured me.

This was going no where good. I knew she was excited about whatever it was she was checking on, but it was definitely something dodgy. And her ten-year-old brain couldn’t wrap itself around the art that is the lure-you-in-with-free-gift marketing ploys.

I tried to explain it to her, and her face – and the rest of her – kind of collapsed in on itself. “But it said there was a free vase and flowers and chocolates,” she argued, even though I could tell I she was starting to believe me. I explained that they were free if you bought something else, and told her she could call one of her aunts if she wanted to have a grown-up walk through it with her to check it out. My heart just broke for her. She had heard the ad on the radio when she was falling asleep and had gotten a piece of paper and written down all the details. She was trying to do something very sweet for me, and all on her own. I remember how good it felt to be able to walk to the corner store when I was young and get my mom a surprise with my own money. You grow a lot in those moments. And my baby was trying so hard to do something nice.

I gave her a hug and a kiss and told her how much her thoughtfulness meant to me. We talked about the gifts they’d given me in the years passed and laughed over a few of them. And then I reminded her that she could always ask her dad for help, or her aunties. And off she went to start her homework and finish our crazy Monday night.

Ooch, it is so hard, this letting my kids grow up business. But sometimes, sometimes, you have a moment when  you know they are doing just fine.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “When the thought really DOES count.”

  1. Kim Says:

    One question: Were they funeral flowers??

  2. Kathy Says:

    That is so very sweet. Lobe so much that she wanted to do that for you. Can’t think of a mama that deserves it more. Plus you pointed her in all the right directions to seek the help she needs.

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Awww remember when bee baby wrapped you up play lipstick in an old sock for Xmas so you’d have presents lol

Leave a Reply

