Mischief managed.

I still feel like I shouldn’t be saying this out loud, but I think we might have survived the sleepover craziness for one more year. Huzzah! And really, I think I might mean it this time: no mas.

Really, I shouldn’t complain. Gracie-girl had a great time. The girls were all relatively well-behaved. There was no in-fighting, no drama, no one ended up in tears, no one asked to go home. It’s just that all twelve girls showed up. All of them! And that’s a lot of shrieking girliness running around your small, open-concept house. There’s no where to hide from that.

The irony there is that the girls spent most of the night playing hide-and-seek. And some other games. Watched movies. Threatened to toothpaste and draw mustaches on the first girl to fall asleep – except they did that right in front of the grown-ups. Silly girls. I threatened right back to draw the words “mean girl” on their foreheads before sending them home to their parents if anyone woke up with marker on them. (I didn’t say anything against toothpaste, but I don’t think anyone picked up on that.)

So it was overwhelming at times, but manageable. Gracie’s best friend (who is a boy) and his family came over for pizza and cake and we watched most of the Pens hockey game, so that was fun and helped distract me from the total chaos screaming around my house. Then when it was time to kick the boys out, we all sat down and watched Frozen. Cute movie – even cuter when you have a dozen girls running around shrieking, but then stop and sing, mesmerized, every time a song came on. At the end of the night, Kim and I escaped to my room to play a couple rounds of Sorry and we smuggled the rest of the key lime pie in there. Four times a kiddo came into the room to ask one question or another. Bee was outraged that we were playing a board game without her, but every time missed the fact that we also had pie sitting on the bed. Heh.

The girls fell asleep before 1 a.m. (or if they didn’t, they at least didn’t keep me up, which, let’s face it, is all that’s important) and managed to stay quiet until 7:30 a.m. Everyone went home before 10 a.m. And there were no spontaneous pillow fights or other shenanigans in the middle of the night that required me to get out of bed to glare at anyone. On the contrary, while most of us were watching Frozen, I was able to really watch Gracie hanging out in a circle of friends, laughing and having a good time without realizing she was being watched. She looked so happy and so in her element. The fact that she has twelve friends who think enough of her to show up and have fun? That’s pretty awesome. I loved getting that peak into her unfolding social life. I like the people she’s chosen to surround herself with, and I love the fact that she used two of her precious invitations on her sisters’ friends so Bee wouldn’t feel left out.

That? Makes it all worth it.

Even if I’m really, really not ever doing the sleepover thing again. Really.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

