Quote of the day.

It’s becoming very clear to me that my childrens are going to kill me stone cold dead before the end of the teenagery doom. Gracie, well, she and I will just argue and out-stubborn each other. She’s my mini-me and I’ve known since I figured out that she’s my mini-me that the teenage years would be problematic.

I may, however, have underestimated how lethal Bee will be to my sanity in a few short days months years.

Bee was asking for…something. The irony is that I can’t even remember what it was. A specific kind of shoe or some earrings or clothes or, I don’t know – something. I was putting her school outfit together for her when she asked for it.

Bee: So, can I, Mom? Please?
Me: I don’t think so, Bee. It costs money and you already have a lot of clothes. I can’t even shut your drawers!
Bee, whining a bit: But all my friends have one!

This, dear readers, makes me batty. I hate that excuse. I never used it when I was younger because I never saw the point in being Just Like Everyone Else, and it sets my teeth on edge even more now. It was also a new line here at Casa de Katie, so I tried to stamp it out quickly…

Me: Well if all of your friends jumped off a bridge, would you do that too? Just because they allll did

There was a slight, calculating pause while Bee figured out her answer.

Bee: Well, if they survived, I would!

I just stared at her, mouth agape before I turned away to laugh. Yep, that girl’s gonna be the death of me.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Quote of the day.”

  1. Kim Says:

    In all fairness, you maaaay have tempted her with the wrong context there: Bee would jump off a bridge WITHOUT peer influence!

  2. Kathy Says:

    Love your kids! And, Kim might have a point there.

Leave a Reply

