How cold is it?

It’s cold outside. How cold is it? It’s so cold…

…that I’ve stopped calling it “brisk.”

…I let the car warm up this morning before piling everyone in.

…the girls didn’t even complain when I told them to dig their gloves out of their stuffed backpacks.

…that I made the girls zip their hoodies and their jackets (usually I’m more of a “they’ll do if they’re cold” non-nagger).

…it’s only two degrees warmer than back home. IN NEW ENGLAND.

…there’s snow-smoke blowing and swirling across the top of the asphalt.

…yeah, it’s snowing – but the kind that happens because it’s so flippin’ cold, not actual precipitation.

…the thermostat in the house hadn’t climbed a single degree during the hour the heat was turned up.

…the dog barely cleared the patio before she peed and bee-lined straight back to the house – no circling for her, this morning.

…my coffee is already luke-warm, and I only poured it into the thermos 40 minutes ago.

…I have a scarf on inside my office.

…I designed my outfit around the longest and warmest socks I own.

…the car actually did feel the windchill this morning, sentient creature or not.

 

Four degrees with the windchill. I love feeling like I’m back home, I just wish I was actually there!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “How cold is it?”

  1. Kim Says:

    Designing outfits around warm socks = true New England style

  2. Katie Says:

    I knew you would approve.

  3. Kathy Says:

    I love your list. It makes me feel like maybe, just for a moment, I can be in awe of the cold again. But, the true story is, snow is piled to the top of my fence and I am tired of walking inside on my breaks. It doesn’t have to be spring, just not below zero.

Leave a Reply

