Focusing on fabulous (in spite of it all).

Last night was a night to focus on Fabulous, and the being thereof. The girls felt fabulous – they finally took out the dozens of tiny braids their Auntie Rhi patiently put into their hair the night before. They wanted curly hair like mama – and they almost got it!

Hair

Don’t equivocate on whether their crimptastic locks are “curly” or not with the girls, though. Trust me, you’d be wasting your breath. Those girls think their curls are the real deal – and they’re over the moon about it, too. It did my heart so much good to hear their almost-too-much excitement.

See, yesterday afternoon, rather unexpectedly, we found out  that one of our coworkers died unexpectedly. She was the heart and the soul of our building, someone I’ve worked with for more than thirteen years, and who some of my colleagues have worked with for more than twenty. We were all rather shaken up. One of the grief counselors we work with had come in, but we were – are – still just processing the impossibility of it all. I’m sure there will be more of the same today.

But last night, I chose to deal with my grief and general disconnect from everything by focusing on the fabulous. It’s hard not to when you have two beautiful, dazzling girls jumping around you, smiling and laughing and begging you to play a game show they made up with their auntie that week.

Ooh1

Turns out, playing Ooh La La was indeed a great distraction. There were sparkles, giant placards for Vanna…er, I mean Bee…to run through the room at the beginning of every round. There were lots and lots of feather boas. And ohmygoodness the costume changes. I was a hot mess by the end in more ways than one.

The premise was (wow, there is really no way to sugarcoat this) pretty much for Rhi to teach me how to properly accessorize my outfits. Like so maybe I won’t call her umpteen times before a date and be all WHEREAREYOU?! I NEED TO KNOW IF THIS WORKS!! Or, um, something. Anyway. There were three rounds – Earrings, Necklaces, and Scarves. At the beginning of each round, Bee ran through with the title poster, and then Auntie Rhi handed her some accessories to present to me. I then had to go into my closet and come out with a matching [I almost typed “mathing” – that would have taken a lot more magic] outfit. If I got a thumbs up, I won the accessory. If I got two neutral-thumbs, I got the accessories. (Um – thank god. Lotsa sideways thumbs.) And if I got a thumbs down, then I lost the accessories, the respect of my girl-children, and the will to ever venture into Charming Charlie on my own. Or maybe just the accessories, whatevs.

Ooh2

It was a great way to distract me from everything that was going on, and I won some pretty cool stuff. Gracie had a blast running the mic and feeling like she was bossing everyone around. Bee was in her glory helping me pick out what to wear and making adjustments. (Somebody get that child a fashion house to run.) And Rhi giggled and made fun of my fashion choices. Oh, and maybe tried to get me to laugh a time or two. Because this happened:

Rhi

The night definitely ended with two very tired girlies (and tireder adults), much alcohol, and me telling Rhi she shouldn’t leave on Sunday.  Because she’s right – “Look! Something shiny!” does have a magical ability to distract you from all the things.

3 Responses to “Focusing on fabulous (in spite of it all).”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your co-worker. I will keep you all in my thoughts.

    What a great game. I bet it was a ton of fun.

  2. Mary Says:

    So glad your girlies were able to distract you and “make” you have a good ending to what must have been a horrible day.

  3. Kim Says:

    I don’t know…Gracie’s hair looks an awful lot like yours in that first pic there ;-P Glad you didn’t lose the game show. Bob Barker would be proud.

Leave a Reply

