Betcha anything they sleep good tonight!

Confession: it was kind of a selfish birthday present for Bee-girl. And she got it way early – her birthday isn’t for another week and a half, and she’s had her present for more than a week already.

Slide1

Oh yes I did – I bought her (them? me?) a giant inflatable water slide that cost way more than a birthday present ever should. I had a sizable coupon, and their inflatable pool from last year was sliced six ways to Sunday and had to be thrown away, so I was going to either replace their pool or put the money towards this… and since the girls are going to be spending most of the summer home with one auntie or another, I decided this would be way more fun. And a useful bribe. And wear the kids out. So! Win-win-win-win!

I will say, the slide was a pain in the buttowski to set up the first time. You have no idea what piece needs to be laid out in what direction, and the instructions are less than helpful. It took me about an hour to set it up – seriously – but only 15 minutes last night since I had a better idea of what was going on. And I will say this – once you do have the inflatable laid out on the tarp (which wasn’t included, but I found very useful to protect the nylon from the possible prickly grass punctures), it did inflate in less than two minutes. Then you just have to attach the hose and turn on the water and you’re good to go!

Slide2

The girls played on that thing last week for a solid two hours before I made them dry off and come in for dinner. Last night Auntie Rhi and I set it up for Bee and Gracie and N. and J. to use. I have a feeling they’ll play on it for another two hours before they wear themselves out!

I’m sure there will be squabbles over who had more turns and who splashed whom and all the other stuff you can just predict will come flying out of a kid’s mouth during splash time – but I know they will also have fun. And isn’t that what summer vacation is supposed to be about? Not only do I bet the girls will sleep like the dead tonight after running around all afternoon – I also bet that we get our money’s worth out of this slide by the end of the summer. Smiles, suntans, squabbles and all!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Betcha anything they sleep good tonight!”

  1. Kim Says:

    I showed this to Nadia last night and her eyes got big as saucers! Heh.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Love gifts like that. They will always remember.

Leave a Reply

