So this is how our summer started.

Everyone who knows me knows I am not very churchy. I mean, I’m spiritual in that I believe in something, some amalgam of everything out there, but that’s about it. My friends and family are welcome to be as religious and spiritual as they like, as long as they’re live and let live for those who believe differently. We’re very tolerant at Casa de Katie. But there are lines, because, you know, sometimes you have to draw them.

Like on Sunday night. The girls slammed into the house, throwing open the door after what seemed like a very long weekend at their dad’s house. They were chattering away about their last day of school on Friday, and what the awards’ ceremony was like, and how Grandma bought them new dresses the day before to wear to church – and that’s when I noticed that Bee was carrying what looked to a red plastic bread bag.

“Whatcha got, Bee?” I asked, taking it from her as she thrust it in my direction.

“It’s leftover Communion bread,” she threw over her shoulder as she ran around the room doing…something. I don’t know what, exactly, because I was staring at the bread in my hand, wondering if this was really happening. Because, you know, little weird.

“Communion bread?”

“Yes!”

“From church?”

“Yes!”

The confusion, it was not ending. “Bee, why do you have, um, “leftover” Communion bread?”

“Grandma said I could have it. We can eat the leftovers, Mom!”

We can…what?? “Bee, we cannot eat leftover Communion bread! You don’t eat leftover Communion bread!”

“Why?” Bee stopped twirling and was rummaging around in the kitchen, trying to figure out what I was cooking for dinner, and not really paying attention to me.

“Because this is special bread! It’s blessed by a priest and…” Bee looked up at me like she had no idea what I was talking about. Probably because they go to a Methodist church with their grandma and I had been raised Catholic, and she has no idea what a priest is. I tried to start again, but man, I was flustered. “Because it’s the body of Jesus, Bee! We don’t eat leftover Jesus as a snack!”

(File under: things you never thought you’d yell in your house.)

Bee shrugged her shoulders and went back to setting the table. Me, I am apparently too churchy to throw the leftover Communion bread away, but not churchy enough to know exactly what to do with it. So I brought the bread down to the back of the yard and crumbled the bread up for the birds and ants to eat. Hey, Jesus has to be about feeding the hungry and recycling and stuff. I thought it was a good compromise.

And that is how we had possibly the strangest start to a summer ever. Now I’m kind of afraid to see how the rest of it goes.

 

Tags: , ,

One Response to “So this is how our summer started.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I am laughing so hard right now there are tears running down my face. I never and i mean never thought I would read the words, ” We don’t eat leftover Jesus as a snack!”

    Thank you so much for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

