Campfire ladies.

What is it about the end of the year that makes the Activities Gods lose their everlovin’ minds? I mean, it seems like there are more birthday parties and school activities and competitions than there are childrens or adults to get them there! So it’s been a few weeks since John and Corrie and I got together, which is the minds of the childrens is a few weeks too many. I finally solved the problem by having them over last night for campfire bananas.

When my girls came home from their dad’s house, I told them we were having a little party. “Did you make PIE?!” Gracie was quick to ask. Apparently I am doing this all wrong. There is no pie. “Nope, no pie. We’re having campfire bananas and apples, and we have watermelon.” And also blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries. Basically, I bought allllll the fruit.

When Corrie and the girls arrived, the little’uns went outside to play bean bag toss while Corrie and I made our little assembly line: hollow out some bananas, eat the banana trough you just scooped out, stuff the banana with chocolate chips, marshmallows, and caramel, then zip the peel back up and wrap in foil. For the apples, I used my slicer/corer doohickey to slice the apples on their sheet of foil, then I gathered them back into an apple shape and wrapped them halfway to keep their shape intact. Then I stuffed the core with caramel and chocolate. I offered to get the nutella out, but everyone was too busy stuffing themselves with the stuffings already laid out.

After I threw the treats on the grill (every grilling season should be opened with tasty, tasty fruits), Gracie came running up to me to show me her arm. Which was blowing up with thousands of little balloons. Er, um, bites of some kind. Corrie and I couldn’t decide if they were mosquito bites or ants or what they were, but Gracie said they didn’t hurt and she didn’t see any bugs on her. It wasn’t posion ivy and they hadn’t been there a minute ago. The only thing I could think of was that I had just sprayed her with mosquito repellant. A new kind. Gracie was apparently allergic. So I gave her a Benadryl, sent her in to take a shower, and she asked if she could stay inside. It was gorgeous outside and all of her friends were playing bean bag, but I understood; she was pretty miserable.

The campfire bananas and apples came off the grill and the girls and I declared them delicious! And as soon as the last of the candy was picked off the foil, all of the girlies went inside to play. Which was fine with me – Corrie and I sat out on the patio and drank our drinks (I had peach-mango martinis…yum) and talked our grown-up talk.

I might have hated myself this morning when it was time to get up and be a grown-up again, but I think campfire fruit and drinks on the patio are a pretty good way to start the week!

CampfireApple

One Response to “Campfire ladies.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Sounds like a lovely evening and a great way to start the week. Especially those peach-mango martinis.

Leave a Reply

