I’ll take dollar-store solutions for $200, Alex.

Praise the sweet baby jeebus – Gracie has very nearly finished her recipe book project. She finished copying the last recipe last night; tonight she just has to create a table of contents, put the book together, and create some sort of cover! WOOOO!

But mama might be the only one jubilating. After I picked SheWhoNowHatesPeaches up from After-Care, we grabbed some dinner to-go, raced home and ate it, picnic style, and Gracie assumed the same position at the kitchen table where she’s been for the past week. She did pretty well: I might have reminded her eleventy hundred times to focus, but she didn’t complain until almost 9 p.m., as she was finishing up her last recipe. That’s a three-hour marathon of homework and recipe copying right there. And I don’t think we could have done it without Bee.

See, Bee came home from dinner at her dad’s house with a mischievous look on her face. The reason became clear as she waved her hand in front of my face. “Look what I have, Mom!” she said. I could see a tiny, toy calculator clutched in her fist. “It has a neat trick! Look what it can do! But you have to look really close! And press this button!” Ah. I knew exactly what was going to happen, being a graduate of Saturday morning cartoons and a childhood of my own. But I played along. I put my face next to the numbers, pressed the button, and got a face-full of water.

Bee laughed so hard she fell down on the ground. I guess giggles are heavy!

The Gracie-child, was busy yelling, “What? What is it? Can I see?” from her perch at the kitchen table. “Sure you can,” I told her. “Bee figured out how to make her calculator spell words using the numbers. But the numbers are small, so you have to look very close.” I couldn’t believe Bee held her composure as well as she did. The kid was holding the screams of laughter mostly inside, but her eyes were practically shooting laughter.

Water1

It worked.

A nearly finished project, a tasty picnic dinner, and a much-needed break filled with pranks and laughter – not a bad way to end a day!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “I’ll take dollar-store solutions for $200, Alex.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Glad you survived The Peach Project and that Bee could provide comic relief. Weeks like that are tough so it is great when things work out.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Hahaha! I def thought bee was going to be like Look I can spell boobs! I would’ve falling for the prank fo sho 🙂

Leave a Reply

