Saturdays filled with sunshine and sneakiness (Part 2).

We were off! We successfully navigated two-hours worth of science fun, we had lunch (surprisingly fairly priced) at the museum cafe, and Gracie had changed into her spandex shorts, bright yellow t-shirt, and yellow tutu. And no one even stopped us as we walked out the door. I kept waiting for someone to accuse us of using their parking and stealing away to Mayfest. Maybe bright yellow tutus are a little more common in the cultural district than I think. Maybe our blue member-admission wristbands were part invisibility cloak – who knows. I just know that we walked out the side door and down the alley-ish street between the convention center and the stock show buildings and no one busted us. Man, did that sunshine feel good!

I am, however, totally blaming that “Quick! Let’s bust out of here before we’re noticed!” mindset on why I didn’t stop to take a picture of the signs that pointed the way to the gun show. Yes, only in Texas will you find a gun show adjacent to the city’s largest carnival and annual open-air funtimes. Because HOW COULD THAT GO WRONG. Ahem.

So on and on we walked, and Bee whined for the first time that she was tired of walking, when we came to the major road that stands between the convention center/museum grounds and the park. Now, if I had’ve crossed the busy, busy street on the other side of the side street we were on, I would have noticed the throngs of people walking from the field across the street down the secret side road to the fair grounds. Instead, I thought the cross walk down the road a ways looked more promising. Which is how we came to take a half-mile detour through the botanic gardens. It wasn’t that bad, and the kids were troopers, and we did get to see some very nice flowers and trees and irate guards. Oh, yeah – him. We had taken the path through the gardens so we weren’t walking right on the busy, busy street. Then we had to cut back out to the street through their parking lot, past the guard in his little shack near the parking lot entrance. I know he was just doing his job, but he was convinced that I had parked in their lot and was stealing it for Mayfest. I kept denying it and eventually had to show him our magical blue bracelets to confund him. I mean, to explain. When we got out to the road, I saw that what I thought was a cop stationed there crossing people over was actually a motorcycle cop waiitng for a funeral procession, and that the lights we had been at were the best place to cross. Good thing we’re god at adventuring.

So! Back we walked, with minimal complaining – good thing it was so nice outside – and eventually we arrived at the fairgrounds. And what better way to revive our spirits than to find this as soon as we walked in:

llama

LLAMA! I immediately texted Kim because she has a thing for llamas. It’s…a long story. Anywho. We used our Marauder’s Map to find a ticket booth to procure some coupons (oh, they are using the sneakiness, too, to get us to spend more money) and walked allllll three miles across the fair grounds to find Gracie’s stage. While we waited, we walked through the kid zone that was right next to it and the girls, to their dismay, realized they are too big for the kiddie rides.

Too big

That pictures tricks you into thinking she almost fits. Until she moves and you realize that Bee-girl at some point has grown into all legs and looks quite colt-ish – even when she’s falling off the springy-thing because she is far, far bigger than the little peoples for whom it was designed. We walked around some more and made fun of how many tickets they were charging for the human maze and the bounce house obstacle course and I almost let Bee ride the mechanical bull, except she was just a few inches too short. My girl was hot and tired and feeling very in-between.

So we went back to the dance stage and Bee sat down on the bleachers, mesmerized by the different schools showing off. Gracie and her friends practiced and giggled and acted way too tweenagery for my taste as they huddled off to the side. It was like they didn’t even know us, or something. Hmph. You would think people in bright yellow tutus wouldn’t feel so superior, but them’s the breaks, I guess.

(And here is where I would post the picture of Miss Gracie and her gang, but do you know – I didn’t take one still shot of them all dressed up. D’oh! I have an entire video of their dance, but do  you think I can get a still shot from it this morning? Of course not!)

The Ex was stuck in traffic and missed the show. Ms. G. came through though and showed up with minutes to spare, with her friend who reminds me very much of my cousin Heather. We watched the performance and oh! I was so proud of Gracie and her friends. Even though six students were missing, no one would have known. They hit all of their moves and covered for every person missing. They covered dance moves and filled the stage. I don’t know if Miss Kiki had them practice for that contingency, but no one even mentioned it beforehand, so I guess the girls weren’t worried. They looked so professional up there and they nailed it. They were so proud of themselves, and so was I!

Afterwards, we celebrated with some funnel cake (of course!) and Bee got more of the confectionary sugar on her than she did in her mouth, I think. But I liked the look. Nothing says CARNIVAL! like a kid coated in sugar.

We floated up and down the pathways and eventually made our way over to the rides. Ferris wheels, zip lines, and – our favorite – the bungee jump.

Flying

I have never seen a person so elated as I did Miss Bee on that bungee jump. She was joy personified! Everyone else was doing tiny little somersaults – maybe – but Bee was doing aerial flips and upside down splits and generally making her mama nervous that she was going to run away and join the circus as a trapeze artist. (She could do it, you know – she was that good!). Even the really nice guy who kept giving Bee a boost to get her springing up high again was calling her Tinkerbell by the end. And apparently I’m not biased at all because she got a round of applause at the end. Dude!

So, all in all, it was a successful outing. We were tired and exhausted and worn out by the time we trudged back to the car (even though it was a much shorter walk the way back). We were sunburned a little, though not bad, and best of all the car was still there when we got there. A good, good day. Then again, most days filled with sunshine and sneakiness usually are.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Saturdays filled with sunshine and sneakiness (Part 2).”

  1. Kathy Says:

    It sounds like an AWESOME day full of fun and adventure. I love the bungee jump picture – she looks like she is flying.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    I do believe in Bees! I do! I do! =0D also “she was feeling rather in-between” sounds soooo Lady Violet lol

Leave a Reply

