Accessorized and fabulous!

People who know me can tell you – I am not an accessorizer. It’s not that I don’t like accessories – earrings and necklaces, bracelets and rings, scarves, pocketbooks (er, wait, outside of New England I guess that would be purses), watches, shoes, and what have you – it’s just that my mom never had the time or the inclination to care about any of that. None of my aunties or my friends’ moms were very into any of that either. I mean, well, all of them paid attention to what they were wearing and wore makeup and jewelry – none of which my mom did – but all of them cared more about their families, raising children, having fun, and their careers much more than fashion. So, aside from my Gram (who had very different fashion sense than I did when I was of any age to learn anything about all this), I didn’t learn how to accessorize from watching those around me.

Now, being “girly” doesn’t come very naturally to me. I study things. Ask my sisters, friends, and the poor sales’ associates a zillion times before I trust that I know what I’m doing. I wade into trends very slowly – unless something catches my fancy and then I belly flop into the pool and to hell what other people think because if I love something madly, I just don’t care.

Like scarves.

When I lived in New England, scarves were a practicality. You wore them to beat away the wind and the bitter cold, especially if, like me, you couldn’t wear hats because your hair was barely in control without the static, thank you very much. In Texas? Not so much need for scarves. Bitter cold here is when it hits freezing during the two months of not summer winter. But even if there isn’t so much of a winter season here, there is my workplace. My desk used to be in a big fishbowl area where it was always freezing. A few years ago when they banned small space heaters, I re-discovered my love for scarves. I started buying them in different colors so I wouldn’t be wearing the same one every day and matched them to my outfits. Well, as best as I could. Fashion-challenged, remember?

Recently, my sister has persuaded me to dip my toes into the pool that is Scarves Are Not Just For Winter. It was tempting. I’ll admit, I look silly at the office walking around with a winter scarf on in the middle of the summer, no matter how high they have the air conditioning cranked up. But I feel kinda awkward with a scarf tied around my neck or knotted or so many of the other ways you wear a fashion scarf. I’m still experimenting.

And my sister keeps bribing me. I don’t know if you’ve seen those infinity scarves you can make with an old t-shirt, but they are perfect for me and my What The Heck Do I Do With This Again? syndrome. Basically, you cut across a t-shirt from arm pit to arm pit. Decide how long you want your fringe, and then cut up from the cut line, making each fringe about 3/4″ to 1″ wide. When you’re done, pull on each piece of fringe, stretching it out to make the jersey curl. Ta da! Fringe! Kim made one for Bee when she was here at Christmas. (Bee is by far the girliest of the Casa de Katie bunch.) On Friday, when I opened the care package Kim had sent me, I found one for me in a shade of plum that is one of my signature colors. Coincidentally, it matched the outfit I had on (mindmeld), so I wore it to work. Bee begged and pleaded to wear her t-shirt scarf and promised not to lose it.

How can a mama say no when we just look so good?!

Scarves

And that is the truth.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Accessorized and fabulous!”

  1. Jenna Hatfield Says:

    I fail at scarves. Like whoa. Gimme a necklace; I cannot make a scarf work.

  2. Kim Says:

    Katie, your next step on the road to Scarf Jedi Powers is *clearly* to make Miss Jenna her own fringed tee infinity scarf…

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Ohhh those fringie scarfies gimme the hibbie jeebies. They make me fee like I’m wearing Snuffy’s eyeslashes 😦

  4. Kathy Says:

    I lurv my infinity scarves, but I have not seen one like this. I will have to send girl-child to the innerwebs and have her make some.

Leave a Reply

