26 acts of random kindness.

I was participating in the Acts of Random Kindness thing for Christmas, but I was pretty lax in keeping up with it. Truly: it was random. But I loved doing it – paying for the man’s library fines because he said he didn’t have enough to pay for it all and keep money for the bus fare, leaving dollar bills on the ground for (hopefully) kids to find, buying a lady’s purchases in the line behind me at the store.

But now it’s really hit home for me.

I’m sure if you’ve been following the news stories (and I understand if you had to turn away, believe me), you’ve probably heard of the 26 Acts of Random Kindness to honor the victims of the Newtown shooting. ‘Kindness and compassion’ has been my mantra since last Friday, and so this seemed like a really nice way to honor the victims and also to feel a little less helpless.

And so this afternoon I marked #1 and #2 off my list this afternoon with a quick trip down the street. I bought the receptionist, who often feels neglected out front by herself, a peppermint mocha from Starbucks. And because that didn’t feel like enough, I left $20 at the drive-through the pay for the next few drinks. (Really? REALLY?! When is Starbucks’ drive-through ever empty?!) When I explained to the girl at the window, and then her (really hott) manager, and then the other employees who stopped to listen, we all just about started tearing up. We can’t solve everything the way we want to, but how do I know that small kindness won’t make a difference to whoever pulls through Starbucks next? What if it makes a big difference in his or her day?

Two very small gestures. But if we all make tiny, heartfelt gestures, a lot of good could come of it.

Act1

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “26 acts of random kindness.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Love this.

  2. Gayle Says:

    xo

Leave a Reply

