In which I really miss the use of my fingers.

I love Spirit Week. LOVE! THe kids get a week to dress in a variety of wacky themed and I get a chance to use the creative side of my brain.

I just never realized how much my brain needed my fingers. All of them. Intact.

Yesterday was CRAZY HAIR DAY!! (You have to say it with all of the capitals. It’s a rule.) I love CRAZY HAIR DAY!! The only spirit day that could possible compete is mismatched day because hello! think of the creative possibilities there! In any case, this year a certain one of my childrens was a little more enthusiastic about crazy hair day than the other one. I’ll let you figure out who the spoil sport is.

This is Bee. (Um, obvs.) She wanted hundreds of tiny little elastics in her hair so her pony tails stuck straight up. I took one look at my fingers and reached for the jar of barrettes. Because….yeah.

This is not the greatest picture because allll of the hair was standing up at least two inches from her head before flopping all around. Pinky promise. Queen Bee would have it no other way.

And this, this is Gracie. You can’t tell because someone wouldn’t stand up and pose, but she has her hair half french braided over one ear, and the other half in a pony tail. Borrrring.

Good thing it was CRAZY HAIR DAY!! because french braiding with half a hand? Not the easiest thing to do pre-caffeination. (Or post-caffeination, but I’m just guessing on that one.)

Let’s just say I am realllly looking forward to mismatch day – I don’t think that uses an insane amount of finger dexterity.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “In which I really miss the use of my fingers.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I love crazy hair day because that used to be the only time I let the kids color their hair. Now Emma has some sort of color ALL the time. Right now, the ends are blue and every day has become crazy hair day.

  2. Kim Says:

    oooooh – Katie, why have your kiddos got any color in their hair!?

  3. Mary Says:

    Looks like they were perfect!!!

Leave a Reply

