To make me late, of course.

It was one of those mornings, sort of. I hadn’t slept well, I couldn’t find one of my shoes, and I forgot to start the coffee until I was supposed to be pouring it and rushing out the door.

So of course as I was hurrying down the road, praying I hadn’t fallen behind the traffic rush that I narrowly beat at the traffic light each morning, I noticed something in the road. And then another something.

That white thing there in the middle of the road? That would be a peacock. Or a peahen, more precisely. An albino peahen, taking its sweet time crossing the road. Since I had to stop, I whipped out my cell phone and tried to capture it. You know, for evidence, in case the boss man asked where I was. While I was waiting for Snow White over there to stop strutting down the middle of the road, this guy decided the grass looked greener on the other side of the road. And so he started crossing, too.

What the heck?! I live in the MIDDLE OF A MAJOR METROPLEX! I was started to look around for escaped lions and elephaunts or pissed off stampeding giraffes, but it was just these two. Snow White was getting a little two interested in what, exactly was behind the driver’s side door, and Mr. Blue had finally decided to stop looking at every pebble on his way across the street, and a car was finally coming up behind me, so I very carefully left the scene before Snow White figured out how to work the door handle.

Peacocks crossing the road. Some days I think wonders will never cease.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “To make me late, of course.”

  1. Kim Says:

    Yeah, I’ve been down those roads. Methinks you’re overstating it a bit when you stress “MIDDLE” of a metroplex. You have a horse farm that abuts your property…

  2. Kathy Says:

    Weird! Did you start making why did the peahen cross the road jokes? We know Mr. Blue crossed the road becasue Snow White was over there, but what call her across the street?

Leave a Reply

