Lost in the black hole of vacation prep.

We leave for vacation in five days. Five. Days. That is not very many days. In fact, that means I have one weekend in which to get all the stuffs done that I need to get done. And doing all of that stuffs? That is not very interesting.

You don’t want to hear about the 600 loads of laundry I have to do this weekend. Or about my neurotic excitement at picking out our outfits from all of those lovely, clean, folded options. My girls do not let me choose their outfits. Since I am packing while they are at their father’s house, I get the only say. Mwa ha ha.

You don’t want to hear about the adventure that was excavating Kim’s room, aka the scrapbook room, aka the pile-everything-in-there-to-deal-with-later room. There was an abandoned christmas ornament project in there, peoples. The mess was catastrophic. And since it’s boring and you don’t want to hear anyways, I probably shouldn’t bother telling you that I kicked that room’s butt AND washed the blankets already.

You don’t want to know the Fun! and Exciting! projects I have lined up for my weekend: cleaning the door to my shower because my sister did it for me last time and I felt horribly guilty; and cleaning out the food pantry and scrubbing the floor. I live the life of the rich and glamorous, do I not?

It’s hard to believe my life has dwindled to the point of banality the weekend before a week-long romp to Massachusetts. It wasn’t that long ago I was panicking over Toddlers On A Plane! and wondering how in the world I would stay sane. Now, I figure iPods, my new Kindle Fire, a deck of cards and some snacks should hold us over. Oh, and because I do like to walk on the wild side, I went and splurged on their own travel pillows because I saw mine for all of five minutes last year.

Sucks for you, dear readers, but I’ll take mind-blowingly boring any day of the week. And twice on travel prep weekends.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Lost in the black hole of vacation prep.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I love your wild, wild life. That is all the stuff I do before leaving for vacation. I love coming home to a clean house (shower door and all). Plus, excitement in your world seems to involve something medical every time.

  2. Kim Says:

    HA! I was wondering if I was going to have to leave *my* travel pillow in my luggage for the trip out to avoid the fighting.

    The only reason I even cleaned that shower door is because *I* insisted we paint the dang bathroom! At 10 pm at night! Ooooh, I’d forgotten how *pretty* both bathrooms are now…

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    but did you swiffer the walls?! =0] and kim i call your travel pillow for in the car! =0]

  4. Mary Says:

    Aw…vacation. there’s not one for me this year; it’s hubby’s turn to do a big motorcycle ride. I worked with someone who said his wife always made sure their house was clean when they were on vacation in case they got robbed. HUH??? 😀

Leave a Reply

