A little freakout goes nicely with coffee.

Ohmygod I’ve lost my mind. That’s all there is to it. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned (probably I have a hundred times, because my mind – it is lost) that Friday is Gracie’s birthday party. A sleepover party. With a Willy Wonka theme. Oh, how fun! you’re saying. Except a Willy Wonka theme for us crackheads means I bought all kinds of candy molds so I could make candy with the kiddos. And a bunch of peeps so we could have Peep Battle brackets.

A sleepover party in which I feed the kids sugar all night and then expect to sleep myself? HAHAHAHAHAHA!

And then there’s the cake that I haven’t planned out. I have to bake that tomorrow night AND frosten it because the party is on Friday. In my mind, we’re doing a sheet cake to look like the candy room with the fudge river from the movie. Green frosting grass. Fudge frosting river. Gummi bears to romp in the forest of lollipops and flower-shaped brownies stuck on lollipop sticks. There are gummi cherries and other various candies to decorate. But when?! When am I going to have the time?!

Because there are also cuppacakes to bake and frosten for school tomorrow. Gracie insisted. And it’s her freakin’ birthday, so how could I say no? And then Gracie asked for a lemon pie to sing happy birthday on Thursday, her actual birthday. No problem! I’ll just throw that into the line-up! (Of course, it’s not really all that hard – I have a graham cracker shell. I just need to make the stove-top pudding and throw it in.)

And then there are goody bags to assemble! I have sparkly pencils and crazy straws and leftover Easter candy that the Bunny didn’t use in the baskets – and they can add whatever candy they make (and don’t consume). Maybe I should have brought that stuff to work. Darnit – why didn’t I think of that?!

At least Gracie’s presents are all wrapped. Though there are the birthday posts to write. Why? Why do I keep raising the bar? Thank god I scribbled down some notes for the posts during a meeting yesterday. Now I just have to find time between work, baking, assembling, and parenting to actually write them.

It will get done. All of it will happen. I know it will. I just needed to get the freakout on the outside so it would be a leetle quieter here in my head. A mama needs some peace and quiet to make the Master Schedule of Birthday Preparations. But if it goes dark here on the blog, it’s probably because I’m drooling, frosting covered, in a corner somewhere.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “A little freakout goes nicely with coffee.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    You are the mom that makes the rest of us look bad. Emma’s b-day sleepover is Saturday. At least the little bro’ has been kicked out of the house. The rest is going to have to plan itself. I heard something about brownies, cakes and cupcakes. So glad they are old enough to bake all the goodies themselves.

    At least I purchased her present a head of time this year.

  2. Agent Torklepants Says:

    If i didnt have 1893million papers to write and finals and an audit at work id send you my patience in exchange for some candy =0] haven them call if theyre in your hair instead of helping and i can babysit via phone =0]

  3. Gayle Says:

    Happy Birthday, Gracie! I know you’ll get it all done, Katie!

Leave a Reply

