Because fall means cooking lovely things.

It dipped down to 49° on Friday night, so of course I had to make a pork roast and homemade applesauce and biscuits this weekend. (The fact that tenderloins were buy one get two free didn’t hurt either.) I was torn between something buttery and garlicky, something barbecuey, and something sweet. So I opened up the ol’ Betty Crocker cookbook and found this:

Fudgy Cappuccino Crinkles

Oh, wait – wrong bookmark.

Pork Pot Roast in Cider
1 1/2 – 2-pound boneless pork blade or sirloin roast (mine was almost 2 1/2 pounds…meh)
2 tblsps cooking oil
1 1/4 c. apple cider or apple juice (cran-apple would probably also be tasty, but I’m saving that for my vodka)
2 tsp instant beef bouillon granules
1/2 tsp dry mustard (I was wondering if I should use regular (wet? that just sounds wrong) mustard or ginger as a substitute when I found some dry mustard in the back corner of my spice shelf. Go me!)
1/4 tsp black pepper (I upped it to 1/2 tsp. I am adventurous, yo.)
3 medium red potatoes, peeled(ish) and quartered
3 medium parsnips, peeled and cut into 2-inch pieces
3 medium carrots, ditto (or a handful or two of baby carrots if you’re lazy like me)
1 large onion, cut into wedges
1/3 cup cold water
1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1. Brown meat on all sides to sear in juices. Place potatoes, carrots, parsnips and onion in a crockpot. Place meat on top of the veggies. My recipe actually advises you to cut the meat so that it fits inside your crockpot. Because if they didn’t tell you, it would just sort of stick up and out the side?? Hmm.

2. Stir together cider, bouillon, pepper, and mustard. Pour over meat and veggies.

3. Cover and cook on low-heat for 8-10 hours or high-heat for 4-5 hours or until tender.

4. For gravy, measure juices, skim fat. Add enough water to juices to equal 1 1/2 cups. Add flour and cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly, and then for one extra minute.

This is where I was going to show you the finished dinner plate, except….I forgot.


It was delicious.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

