Guaranteed to make your Monday morning tastier.

I have very little to post from this weekend. This weekend shall go down in Casa de Katie history as The Weekend Of The Plague. Yeah, that – still got it. Saturday morning I thought I felt a million times better. I thought a trip to the zoo – where we haven’t been in months – would be just the thing to keep the kiddos occupied and argument free for half the day. Yeah, except what really happened is that my allergies were triggered from being in the big, scary outdoors and I blew through my tissue stash halfway through. Epic fail.

So! I spent the rest of the weekend on the couch, thinking I was moments from death. The childrens were mostly good. Especially because I bribed them with this: the only other thing I got off the couch for:

Plague Cake
Cinnamon Sour Cream Cake

 

Ingredients:

 

(cake)
1/2 c. butter
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 c. sour cream (Lite sour cream works just as well.)
1 t. vanilla
2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt

 

(cinnamon layers)
1/3 c. sugar
1/3 c. brown sugar, packed
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg

 

1. Cream the butter and sugar in a large bowl.
2. Add eggs, sour cream, and vanilla and mix until well-blended and consistently smooth.
3. Heap flour on top and mix into the flour pile the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Mix into egg/butter/sugar mixture.
4. In a separate bowl, mix together sugars and spices for cinnamon layer.
5. Layer half the cake batter on the bottom of your pan.  I used a 9″ springform pan, but you could also use a 9″ x 9″ square pan or probably two loaf pans.

 

Bake at 325 degrees F for 50 minutes (if in a round or square 9″ pan, at least).

The thing I liked about this recipe (that I got from my sister) was that she swore it was impossible to botch. She’s cooked it at higher temps and lower temps and it’s been fine (I can swear it bakes just as well – although a mite faster – at 350 because I just now noticed it’s the wrong temp. Whoops.); she’s used tub butter instead of stick; and I can attest that having almost enough baking powder is just fine.

One more approved substitution: Kim recommended taking a shot of Goldschlagger with each piece, and I can attest that a shot of Dayquil works just as well. Or, if you’re one of my children, you don’t even need a shot of anything other than “Let’s go eat that piece of cake Mom offered for no reason before she changes her mind.” It was the best conflict resolution strategy ever. And that’s just what I needed this weekend.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Guaranteed to make your Monday morning tastier.”

  1. Agent Torklepants Says:

    It tastes better if you just say Coffee Cake instead of sour cream cake

  2. Kathy Says:

    I don’t know if I should love you or hate you for posting the recipe. I will have to give it a try.

  3. This is what happens when you encourage thinking outside the box. « Can’t Get There From Here Says:

    […] arguing!” and distractions of “Why don’t you <cough, wheeze> go eat some plague cake?” I thought it would be just the right time to ask my darlings if they had settled on what […]

Leave a Reply

